Women Featured in Iconic Classic Rock Songs Respond to Men Who Clearly Don’t Get Them At All

“♫ … Each intrusion you make, each restraining order you break, I’ll be prosecuting you ♫”

KathleenKern
De Minimis
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

Purple emoji with snaggle teeth holding up the “devil” sign with his hand. There is a face on the hand. It is own a green background with purple stars.
Photo by Piero Fissore on Deviant Art.

Tonight’s the Night
Rod Stewart

“Wait, you think my virginity is the reason I don’t want to fuck you?”

Get Out of My Dreams, Get into My Car
Billy Ocean

“I really don’t want to be in either.”

Run for Your Life
The Beatles

“You’d rather see me dead than with another man? Backing out of the room.”

“Do Ya?”
Electric Light Orchestra

“♫Do ya, do ya want my love?”♫

“Again, I do not want your love.”

“♫”Well, I think you know what I’m trying to say, woman/That is, I’d like to save you for a rainy day.♫”

“I believe tonight’s forecast calls for A MILLION YEAR DROUGHT!”

Freebird
Lynyrd Skynyrd

“Free as a bird, huh, and you don’t wan’t to change? Well, I do prefer men who evolve and grow, so buh-bye birdie.”

My Sharona
The Knack

“I am Sharona’s mother. She is grounded, and since she’s 17, you’re going to have a little talk with the police.”

Ricky Don’t Lose That Number
Steely Dan

“I did feel better when I got home. And after what you did, I am definitely losing this number.”

Every Breath You Take
The Police

“♫ … Each intrusion you make, each restraining order you break, I’ll be prosecuting you ♫”

You’re Sixteen
Ringo Starr

“And you’re 32. Eeuuw”

Take It Easy
The Eagles

“As one of the women who wants to stone you, all I can say is, ‘Hey, girl in that flatbed Ford, drive on by. Take it from me. Your love will not save him.’”

Wild World
Cat Stevens

“Dear Mr. Islam, I am writing this at the age of 37 to let you know I got my Masters in Hydrogeology and currently work with the EPA. I have done fieldwork on four continents, and have generally found that most people treat you well, if you treat them well. So, the world’s not so wild as you think. Maybe you need to get out more.”

P.S: I’m a grown-ass woman now and it was kind of demeaning to call me a child when I was 21.

Amie
Pure Prairie League

“So let me get this straight: you broke up with me because I wanted more commitment, but now that I’m with someone who also wants a committed relationship, you feel, ‘lost and by yourself, and alone.’ And you’re asking me, ‘What I wanna do?’ You think you could stay with me ‘for a while, maybe longer,’ but you keep ‘fallin’ in and out of love’ with me?’ So hard to choose.”

Joker
Steve Miller Band

“Okay, midnight toker, my peaches are getting a little tired of you and your munchies, and the mess you leave in the kitchen, and the shit stains on my sheets. Get up. Time to move on.”

Beast of Burden
Rolling Stones

“♫I don’t want to be your beast of burden ♫”

“And who was it that cleaned up your vomit last night?”

--

--

KathleenKern
De Minimis

Worked for Christian Peacemaker Teams (http://cpt.org) from 1993–2020. I also write novels and do what I can to stop fascism.