International Day of Women and Girls in Science — interview with Asgard Therapeutics’ CEO and co-founder

João Ribas
de novo
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2023

Celebrating the International Day of Women and Girls in Science with an interview with Cristiana Pires, co-founder and CEO of Asgard Therapeutics, one of our portfolio companies.

Cristiana Pires, CEO of Asgard Therapeutics

What inspired you to pursue a career in science?

My tremendous curiosity growing up and the aspiration to do something meaningful inspired me to pursue a career in science. I have long held an interest in understanding human physiology, disease, and the development of new therapies. I trained as a PharmD and then started my scientific career with a Ph.D. in biomedicine, focusing on using cell reprogramming strategies to develop cell therapies for retinal degeneration. As a Postdoc, I was motivated to use basic scientific discoveries and translate them into innovative therapies that could have a real impact on the lives of patients.

Together, with my co-founders, we developed innovative technology allowing the induction of antigen-presenting cells using a direct reprogramming approach. This opened a pioneering possibility to develop new cancer immunotherapies to reinstate tumor immunogenicity, leading to the incorporation and spin-out of our company Asgard Therapeutics from Lund University in 2018. I have been CEO of Asgard since its inception and I have devoted my work to bringing our vision of cancer immunotherapy based on in-vivo direct reprogramming to reality.

What are the biggest barriers you have faced as a woman in science?

I am a trained pharmacist and scientist in the life sciences field, one of the few fields in STEM where women are widely present and successful. As I transitioned to the biotech world, I noticed fewer women in leadership roles in start-ups, companies, and on the investor side. However, I have been, and continue to be, fortunate to meet and interact with strong, successful women, in leading positions such as CEOs, VC investors, mentors, and coaches; all of which have set a great example for me and have helped me along the way.

What is your advice for young women looking to forge a career in research/STEM?

Trust in your abilities, do not question yourself. Surround yourself with inspirational leaders, who become mentors along the way.

What do you enjoy most about working in STEM?

My motivation comes from being challenged. As a scientist, there are always new questions, experiments, and concepts to develop, which give an unlimited number of challenges. In the biotech world, the challenges are different, and more focused on how to translate new technology into a new therapy that can benefit patients. These challenges with a sense of purpose are what make me continue my work and keep me motivated to work hard!

--

--

João Ribas
de novo
Editor for

🥼 🚀 Biotech VC and company builder @ Novo Holdings; 🎙️ Founder/Host @ The Future Labs podcast; views are my own.