#180 — dead or alive

Weird Things You Didn’t Know About Ducks

They are even weirder than chickens.

HF Sylaj
Dead or Alive
Published in
12 min readSep 10, 2023

--

Two adult white ducks sitting next to each looking adorable.
Mark (left) and Maybell, our Pekin ducks. Photo by HF Sylaj, 2022.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote an article titled, “Weird Things You Didn’t Know About Chickens”. It has had a good response. People seem really interested in the weird things about chickens. So I thought, why not get weirder? In that pursuit, we are going to talk about domesticated ducks. Because those guys get downright bizarre.

Some of the following does get a little graphic, though I have done my best to word things so that they are less shocking and safe for most environments. But ducks are on a whole different level. Don't say I didn't warn you.

When is a duck is not a duck?

I always thought that the word duck is used to denote the entire species when referring to them as a whole and not specific sexes, but is also what a female of the species is called. And that a drake is a male duck. Merriam-Webster agrees with me. But according to modern duck blogs, I and the dictionary are wrong. They say that a hen is a female duck.

Hens to me will always be a female chicken. But… I did realize when proofreading the first draft of this article that not having a different term for the female than from the species gets confusing. So for clarity…

--

--

HF Sylaj
Dead or Alive

American immigrant in Kosovo 🇽🇰 Creator, Traveler, and Chicken Mum. ❤ I am a writer, not an expert.