Dark Fires

Athul Anil Kumar
Dead Poets Live
Published in
1 min readNov 7, 2023
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

Why is this life so dark
Why am I not able to move forward
What is pulling me back
Why am I feeling so stuck

This life is holding me back,
I dunno for what,
I want to move forward,
I'm trying my best

Its like the air is made of glue
They can't see my flailing arms
They think I'm waving goodbye
But I'm begging to be pulled up

It's like I'm in a glass globe,
It's spinning all around me,
I'm stuck, having to watch,
Everyone else living a life

Why can’t I be free,
Why can’t I be who I want to be,
Why can’t I fly,
Why can’t I fly away into the night

All this pain for what
Fires are burning everywhere,
Inside and out,
And I can't put out either

I can only silently watch,
As the world crumbles,
Inside and beside me,
No light of hope left

All this pain for what ,
Which masochist wants to see this,
What pleasure do you get
From all this fire

Or are you just trying,
Trying to feel something,
Because you're so stone cold,
The world needs to burn for you to feel anything

--

--

Athul Anil Kumar
Dead Poets Live

Wandering with an open mind. Trying to capture the essence of life.