In response to Nazim Hikmet’s “I Think Now You’re Just Like Everybody Else”

A poem

Uly
Dead Poets Live

--

Image by Flora Westbrook from pexels

Hi everyone! I enjoy writing kind of a “response poetry” to my favorite poems from famous writers, and here is another one! This time I chose famous Turkish poet Nazim Hikmet and his poem “I Think Now You’re Just Like Everybody Else. Firstly, here are his words:

My eyes don’t see the love in your eyes.
My heart doesn’t receive the love from them.
I’ve already exhausted my soul, take, exhaust it a little more.
Because I think you’re just like everybody else now.
Though last night I was waiting for you to come,
today I’m running away from you secretly.
See, I’d looked into my heart well enough,
then I understood that you’re just like everybody else.
I completely forgot you, I’m sure about that.
Now my promise has gone to the past.
I don’t even have grudge for you in my heart.
I think you’re just like everybody else now.

And here is my freestyle response:

I have feared this words, for all I have known,
I have feared your empty, loveless glances.
You say I have exhausted your mind, your soul.
When I was the one filling your life with happiness.
I was running to you, while you ran away,
You didn’t give me a second chance.
I thought our love will always find a way,
But now I realize, we don’t make sense.
You have forgotten me, but I…

--

--

Uly
Dead Poets Live

I write from my heart. It is a story with rhyme.