Q&A With Kate

Amy Jane
Dead Things By Kate
4 min readJan 5, 2017

Dead Things by Kate | Interview with Kate

Kate, Knutsford Makers Market

Q. When did your company begin and how do it begin?

A. My business started 18 months ago when I knew working for an insurance company was not the life time career for me. I started the business as a hobby showing the public one of my many passions in life. I didn’t think back then that it would end up like this but I am proud of what I have achieved and have high hopes for the future of my business.
I love my taxidermy business and I am so glad I went with my heart with this!

Q. Tell us something interesting about yourself.

A. Well, where to begin I sell dead things for a living! Everyone has their own interests and I wouldn’t say my interests are the same as everyone else's, so rather than telling everyone my interests how about I tell you things I love. One of my greatest loves in life is dogs, I love my springer spaniel, Woody and I love everyone else’s dogs big or small. I once just wrote a status about people posting photographs of there dogs and I have to say it was one of my greatest moments, I loved it!
Another love of my like is my beautiful 6 year old son Ozzy, he is a great inspiration as well as my best friend. He inspires me to try harder everyday and to follow my dreams just as he does. He doesn’t quite understand the idea of taxidermy but he is coming to terms with it and does have some of his own pieces which he has taken off me.

Q. What would you say the purpose of your business is and where do you see it going in the future?

A. The purpose of my business is to share with the world my passion for taxidermy and how it lets these animals live on in beauty, making them beautiful forever and to stand tall and proud in people’s homes. I want to be able to create beautiful pieces of taxidermy that fill peoples lives with happiness and to develop my business into the interior design industry.
The future of my business is unknown just like anything else, I hope it continues to grow and flourish into something bigger and more beautiful than it already is. Although some people might think I want more from life but having my business and my beautiful son Ozzy makes my life already complete!

Q. What’s your favourite piece of taxidermy you have owned?

A. My favourite piece I have ever owned myself has to be the beautiful white peacock I bought months ago and sold on to a new home. Although I did really want to keep him and sometimes wonder to myself if I did the right thing but I know he needed a home and I needed the money to put into my business. So sometimes I think it was just greed that made me want him anyways, I have the pictures to always remember him by. He was certainly something different!

Q. Finally, tell us if you’re not working, what do you do in your spare time? Your other ‘hobbies’ in life.

A. Taxidermy and my work does take up a huge part of my life most certainly and I can say for the most part I am working to ungodly hours to finish parcels, new orders and create new pieces. Although when I do get time to myself or my family I do make the most of it. My other passions in life include skating (rollerblade skating) I love to go down the skate park however, I haven’t been in ages so when I do go I’m usually just getting into the swing of things again.
Horse riding, I love horse riding! I would say horse riding is up there with my taxidermy, I have one beautiful horse Bailey who I love to bits and he loves a good ride. I don’t have all the time in the world for him but I do make a lot of time for him making sure he gets some love and riding in the week.
As well as being an artist with my work and taxidermy I do try and make time to draw and keep pracitising my drawing so one day maybe I can teach Ozzy how to draw and also incorporate my skill into my work for ‘Dead things by Kate’.

Kate x

--

--