The government of Lebanon has resigned

Haydn Wilks
DeadBirdPress
Published in
2 min readAug 11, 2020

--

Nick sends me a link to a news article on the government of Lebanon stepping down due to the Beirut explosion.

Nick: That’s normal.

Nick: I dread to wake up these days it’s just like i wonder what’s gonna be on my phone! It’s gonna be trump dropping a bomb soon

I ponder it, pace, vape, search for avant garde electronica on Spotify and click the first track that appears & it’s some tuneless droaning of raindrops at mathcore intervals so I search Bonobo & play that and reply to Nick:

Me: Yeah man chaos everywhere.

Me: I do think just having 24 hour news and internet makes it worse.

Me: Like 30 yrs ago nobody in britain would ever know if the government of Lebanon resigned lol

Nick: Yeah I feel like we’re all biting a bit much then we can mentally chew

Me: Like we are connected to all the world’s problems at once

Me: Yeah it’s too much

Nick: I would be lying if I was to say I haven’t thought about taking a month off from all social media and banning myself from reading news

Nick: Just to see if it mentally makes me feel better which I feel i already know the result

The government of Lebanon has resigned.

23:06, 10/08/2020.

--

--

Haydn Wilks
DeadBirdPress

Welsh writer who has lived in Korea, Japan, and the Netherlands. My latest novel $hitcoin explores the wild world of cryptocurrency. deadbirdpress.com/shitcoin