Behold, a quasi-representative aggregation of events, ideas, & products contributing to the evolution of CI/CD over the past 33 years

A 33-year retrospective of DevOps-driven Continuous Integration & Delivery

Dean Peters
Dean On Delivery
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2018

--

Behold, a quasi-representative aggregation of events, ideas, & products contributing to the evolution of Continuous Integration & Delivery over the past 33 years.

WHY CI/CD?

This is the second part of a three-part series which ends in me making wild-n-crazy Product management Predictions for 2019.

This aggregation is very different than my first in that this collection focuses on technical advances in the area ‘early and continuous delivery
of valuable software
’; especially where DevOps is concerned.

Yes, I know DevOps wasn’t a term or a thing up until about 2009 when Patrick Debois and Andrew “Clay” Shafer met. However, I would argue that the convergence of development and operations enjoyed a very long wind-up … at least that’s one of my takeaways when looking at this aggregation from a 33-year perspective. Your mileage may vary.

And just as I did with my first list, below is a public embedded GitHub Gist I’m sharing with anyone who wants to contribute to this aggregation … because I’m absolutely and 100% positive I’ve overlooked something.

Again, please feel free to contribute to this aggregation. There’s only a couple of ground rules, don’t be spammy nor shamelessly self-promotional about your entry. Don’t take it and claim it as your own.

Oh, and please keep in mind the intention of this quasi-representative aggregation not to serve as some sort of comprehensive history of CI/CD, but rather to surface and discuss DevOps-centric influences on how Product Management is practiced in 2019.

FYI, here’s a convenient link to my first part post of this trio. Next up, my Product Management predictions.

SaSa

--

--

Dean Peters
Dean On Delivery

Agile product manager, recovering programmer, servant leader, former pro opera singer, husband & dad. Opinions & ideas expressed here are solely my own.