Politics, Government, Congress

Keeping Idiots Out of Congress

Without idiots, Congress might work

John Dean
Dean’s List
Published in
5 min readMar 27, 2024

--

Photo by Gage Skidmore via Wikimedia

Have you ever wondered if America might be better off without Congress? I have, but I am not ready to give up on democracy. I would prefer to fix Congress rather than abolish it.

A quick look at recent news coming out of Washington suggests that Congress is an obstacle to getting the nation’s work done. The reason for that is the people who are serving in the House and Senate. Not all of them, of course. Only the idiots.

I devoted my weekly column in Spy Community media’s Spy newspapers to the question of stupid and dysfunctional people in Congress. I don’t claim to have found a solution, but I throw out a couple of ideas. It is likely these ideas won’t solve the problem, but I offer them out of frustration. I don’t want to read about Jim Jordan’s efforts to expose the “Biden Crime Family,” Marjorie Taylor Greene’s motion to oust Speaker Mike Jackson, or the latest from Matt Gaetz, the Florida Congressman accused of sharing dirty pictures and snorting drugs on the floor of the House of Representatives.

The piece appeared in The Spy on March 27, 2024. It can be found as published here.

Keeping Idiots Out of Congress

--

--

John Dean
Dean’s List

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.