Photo © 2022 J. Dean

Welcomed by a Little Blue Heron

How did this magnificent bird survive Hurricane Ian?

John Dean
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2022

--

I did not know what to expect when I returned to southwest Florida more than a week ago. Hurricane Ian, a Category 4 storm, devastated our community in late September. Hundreds of houses were destroyed damaged, including my own.

Once I surveyed the damage to my house, my wife and I arranged repairs. Then I started to wonder about the birds. How had the birds weathered the storm?

To answer my question, I got on my bike and took rides daily to the numerous ponds near our home. There were only a few birds, mostly Cormorants, and Anhingas. For the first few rides, I did not see one of my favorite birds, the Little Blue Heron.

Photo © 2022 J. Dean

Last week I decided I needed to change my schedule. Instead of taking my tours mid-afternoon, I got up earlier and rode just after daybreak. The strategy worked. I spotted a Little Blue Heron on my first attempt.

Photo © 2022 J. Dean

--

--

John Dean
Dean’s List

Writing on politics, photography, nature, the environment, dogs, and, occasionally, humor. Editor of Dean’s List.