My First Letter To You

Virtue Of Wisdom
Dear Grandson
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2019

Dear Grandson,

The day you were born, was a time of thrill and excitement for both your parents and our entire family. You were a breath of hope, joy and light in all of our lives. I held your Grandmother close to my heart as we watched you snuggled up in your Mothers bosom. So full of life, so precious, so lovely. When I first saw you, I couldn’t help but marvel at the craftsmanship of the Father in heaven, your real Father. I know that my time here on earth is short and I can’t possibly teach you all that I’ve learnt throughout my lifetime. But I knew that apart from the Bible (“Basic instructions before leaving earth), I needed to document short snippets of what I’ve learnt to give you different perspectives as you journey through this adventure.

Your Grandfather has gone through much in life. I can proudly say that through the struggles, the pains, the joys and adventures, I have lead a full life. Not by my own efforts, but by the Lord who constantly dotes on me. I’ve fallen in love, I’ve gotten my heart broken. I’ve been successful in my career, I’ve been scammed in business. I’ve traveled the world, I’ve been near death many times.

I write this, not as a sure cut formula to “success” in life but as a reference guide to provide you different perspectives which you yourself must consider before making decisions. Everyone’s path is never similar. You will come to experience your own sufferings, hardships and joys. You will chart your own path and fulfill the mission which God has written deep in your heart.

My dear Grandson, I pray that as you venture into this adventure we call life, you will always remember your true north — Jesus Christ.

Your loving Grandfather,

Nicholas

--

--