I left Facebook — Not Social Media

It’s Not About SM, It’s About Privacy

Jenn Marie
Dear Internet

--

A few months ago, I left Facebook. Although it occurred around the same time of the US presidential election.. it had nothing to do with that. This was something I had been pondering since I opened my account back in 2009.

Unfortunately, like many Americans, it became difficult to leave the longer I stayed. Plus, when I discussed my intent with friends and family, I was met with irritation, eye rolls, and argument.

Why would you want to leave Facebook???

Shouldn’t you just grow thicker skin??

Here’s the straight-up facts for all the nay-sayers.

All of 2016’s top mobile apps are owned by either Google or Facebook
Today Nielsen released their report about the most widely used mobile apps in 2016. The top 8 apps were all owned by…medium.freecodecamp.com

What does this mean for the everyday person? Well, if you understand online marketing and Big Data, it should give you a chill.

As online monopolies, Google and Facebook have a terrifying amount of control over content. What is content? Content is every single bit of information that you (yes, you) place online. All of it. The emails, the pictures, the videos, the comments, the blog posts, the audio, the description about the products you sell online…

--

--

Jenn Marie
Dear Internet

Lover of computers, content & culture. Freelance UX writer & grad student. Owner of Jenn Marie Writing & Marketing.