Today’s Internet Writing, AKA Scribble

Jenn Marie
Dear Internet
Published in
2 min readJul 16, 2014

--

As a professional writer it is hard to find work at a place where everyone works for free, but somehow people like myself manage to scrape out a living. For me, the Internet is a huge dynamic book, almost like a yearbook. There are pictures, some information, and the area in the back where people scribble their messages.

When I was in highschool, my friends would turn straight to the back of the book so that they could write their funny message or sketch out a picture. I was always the weird one who insisted on reading the few pages that had words on them. Years later, when I went back through my yearbook, I was amused by the messages left by classmates, but found greater value on the other pages. I already knew Jessica said she would “love me like a sister always” and even then I knew it was a lie.

The Internet is like my highschool yearbook- full of ridiculous, over-glorifying, and in the greater scheme of things, irrelevant writing. I mean, yes it’s entertaining, but at what point do you stop looking at it for useful information?

While even I will ‘scribble’ some writing on a friend’s Facebook page, I consider it just that. The problem is; many website owners have mistaken scribble for writing. They then wonder why people do not buy their products.

Scribble has its place, and that typically is in the back of the yearbook after all of the important stuff.

Unfortunately, the Internet and those adding content to it are attempting to mark the…

--

--

Jenn Marie
Dear Internet

Lover of computers, content & culture. Freelance UX writer & grad student. Owner of Jenn Marie Writing & Marketing.