Cardi B v Azealina Banks argument is not really about dark and light. It’s about equality of economical independence.

Krissi
Dear Queen
Published in
5 min readMay 14, 2018
Images sourced from Giphy

I woke up and do what I do most mornings and listen to some TD Jakes, however for some reason my Youtube feed was filled with opinions one of which was by Empressive , (To confess I watched the whole video) discussing the beef between Cardi B and Azealina Banks (AB). Over the last few months, there has been various light skinned women within the music industry who have been called out over their colourist in fact lets call it what is racist statements (and yes I think people of colour can be racists towards each other) Statements from Mya Jama to Steff London’s have been dug up from old social media posts in regards to dark skinned women. It’s as if we really haven’t left the planation to the slave house mentality . Yes, they have both apologised. However, I think there is deep rooted, trend going on here, which feels like entitlement, I am entitled to say these things because …. yup you try and go ahead an finish this statement. (I can only speak for myself)

Back to AB and Cardi, this is a clear case of the hero in the villain. Which one is which really depends on your point of view, the argument stems from a quote by AB stating Cardi B was “a illiterate untalented rat” Ouch! First, off Cardi may actually suffer from dyslexia and I think people of colour are less likely to be diagnosed correctly. Spelling and intelligence are not synonymous, ask Richard Branson and the late Ikea founder, yup they are both dyslexic.

Now, the first thing which came to my mind is AB is going off on one, she has a hot mouth, however she is very astute, does it work in her favour, not always. Yet, once you get past her delivery she makes a valid point about the dumbing down of black women’s culture, but the rest got lost in the noise.

Yet, to me. Both of them are playing the victim card. One is like oh, why me and the other one is like why not me! First off be grateful, for the fact you have the creative licence to work on your passions. Do you know, how many people would love to be in either of your shoes. You are both getting caught up in your own hype regardless of how much hype you have.

As for the whole dark and light skinned thing. I’m like just leave us dark skin women alone already. I mean, seriously women are already oppressed economically via gender and race, yet we have added an extra layer of stuff. Which is only complicating a situation were by the playing field isn’t level. Fairness of equality can only be made level when someone from the advantaged group speaks up for an oppressed individual or group. For example, the whole Octavia Spencer and Jessica Chastain, ensuring they were both paid equally.

To me this conversation is not really about light and dark, however it is more about equal pay and acknowledgement for talent and effort put into a craft or job. Basically economical independence, which we all have a right to.

‘Here’s the thing, women of colour on that spectrum, we make far less than white women. So, if we’re gonna have that conversation about pay equity, we gotta bring the women of colour to the table. This is what Octavia Spencer said.

“But here’s the thing, women of colour on that spectrum, we make far less than white women. So, if we’re gonna have that conversation about pay equity, we gotta bring the women of colour to the table.”

I don’t see how we are going to bring women of colour to the table, if we can’t even unite among ourselves. Historically, race has played a key role in separating us and maybe Kanye is right, we are no longer enslaved, however mentally we still are and we can’t keep on praying on the past with no solution, when really we need to focus on how to ensure we don’t repeat the same mistakes in the future.

Let me cast you back to a favourite of mine, Fresh Prince of Bel air. Aunt Viv was originally cast as dark skin women, then later in the season she is swapped for a lighter skin version, this is not the only example, let me think do you all remember the first season of My wife and Kids? Well the younger sister was originally dark skinned in season two she was swapped out for lighter skinned actress. Why? we may never really know.

Image sourced from Giphy Aunt Viv 1
Image sourced from Giphy Aunt Viv 2

Some, may argue it’s just a coincidence however, I sit more on the argument of I think psychologically the swap out of a dark skin women over to light skin women, has an effect on how dark skin women and on how I use to view myself from a very young age.

Lets look back at Kanye’s Touch the Sky… I just added that in for extra effect. This isn’t a history lesson, this is an observation. In no way am I saying black people should exclusively date within their race, because I have dated outside of my race and men are men, regardless of what the #colour of their skin.

Image sourced from giphy

If this is the case, let us women of colour regardless of the spectrum of shade we sit on, Get on. In fact, we are doing this already… Just pave the way in peace. Have a great day!

--

--

Krissi
Dear Queen

🤓FoundHer, Strategist, Entrepreneur, Creative, Techie, Winner (global nominee of) NASA Space Apps Challenge 2017. Sharing thoughts.