Getting comfortable with my social responsibilities.

Chloé Ann
Dear Queen
Published in
3 min readMar 28, 2017

I was first introduced to the idea of ‘social responsibility’ in my first year of University. Like many students, I put my personal self-development aside for the ‘greater cause’ of getting my degree. Convincing myself, when I have the time I will watch that documentary on climate change, or look up what mass-incarceration really means, or try and learn about the struggles between Israel and Palestine. Things that I knew so little about, only that they were problems that affect societies.

My moral compass was spinning uncontrollably in the background for years.

I don’t know what I can do, still I know I’ve got to try. — Pocahontas

Welcome 2016. The year where I could not back-bench my feeling of being socially responsible any more! I have battled with this notion for the last 8 months or so… questioning “What can I do to make an impact?” or “How much do I need to know, to know?”. My method of being clued up started with reading articles on issues that resonated with me. Being a black mixed-race British women working in the technology sector left me with plenty of common injustices to choose from.

I started reading an article a day. The more I read about, the more I felt angry. At first I had this immediate impulse to do something… anything! This matured into a wave of extreme sadness — ‘I don’t want to live in this cruel world’ type thing.

Yet I kept reading. Now I read easily 20+ articles a day, I source this stuff through Twitter mainly, but also via Medium and Facebook etc. I read articles plagued with propaganda, twisted with personal bias, I keep up to date with news and policies from established media outlets and read stories of people’s everyday personal experiences. I watch YouTube videos, check twitter trends, talk with my friends and interact with strangers on social networks.

What I have learned from reading such a diverse range of sources is how to acknowledge people’s opinions and points of view, even if they are alien to my experience as a human being. It has made me more compassionate and empathetic. I have learned that for every article I disagree with, I can find one that I agree with. For every action that I believe is unjust, I can find a selfless act of kindness that reaffirms my belief that all humans are inherently good, and our ability to love is the DNA that connects us all.

How do I find the time for this?

I assure you I am no free spirit. I am writing my PhD thesis, working, and volunteering, so my time is scarce. I made time by cutting down on watching TV series or Netflix.

How do I deal with the sadness news often provokes?

I actively seek out positive stories and experiences to read so that my learning isn’t outweighed by the harsh realities of world politics and injustices. I also talk to people who are like-minded so I don’t feel like a lone ranger!

What do I do to make a difference?

I don’t actually know the answer to this… if anyone knows the golden rule, hit me up! 🙋🏽

What I try to do is interact with people and learn how to have constructive conversations. I practice listening. I encourage awkward conversation if it gives me or the other party the opportunity to educate each other.

I try to volunteer - when I can. Donate to causes - when I have the means. Recycle my water bottles - Always!

What I don’t do is fall foul to people when the conversation becomes riddled with insults. I think it’s important to call people out on their bullshit. But I won’t entertain your ignorance with a good argument. “Aint nobody got time for that!

--

--

Chloé Ann
Dear Queen

PhD Automatic Speech Recognition. ML Engineer @ Apple.