Heart in Diamond

Natalia Shipilova
Memory Garden Space
2 min readDec 7, 2018

How do you feel to be a Diamond after death?

When I first learnt about this option within my research in the UK, I felt that it gave me inspiration to think of it with no fear, to approach this important topic with more awareness and reflection of what is going to be with my body after death, even if my choice might be something else. It gave me a beautiful perspective and endless human touch with my beloved ones and with nature.

I could hardly imagine myself as a ceramic urn standing on the shelf covering from time to time with the dust. Diamonds are associated with a gift, the ability to captivate a person’s heart. In this case it’s even more. It’s a heart-and-human touch as a part of a diamond’s structure, giving priceless value to this beautiful gemstone as a separate or cremation jewelry. By touching it a warm feeling of love appears rather than grief. I wish I could make this after my Mom’s death.

I was also wondering how a diamond of ashes is made, because it is originally made of a single element — nearly 100% carbon. Under the immense heat and pressure below the earth’s surface, the carbon atoms bond in a unique way that results in diamonds’ beautiful crystalline structure. More over, diamonds are the very hardest natural substance. The only thing that can scratch a diamond is another diamond.

This personal cremation diamond is made from ashes or hair, which is broken down into a powder.

The carbon is added to the diamond growing foundation, out of which a unique crystalline matrix will grow, creating a personal diamond.

Then the mixture is placed in the core of the high pressure & high temperature (HPHT) machine which recreates diamond-growing conditions, similar to those deep in the Earth’s crust.

When a diamond finishes growing, it is polished and cut with the same grading standards that govern natural diamonds.

Many thanks to Heart in Diamond for provided materials.

--

--

Natalia Shipilova
Memory Garden Space

Life and Innovation driven. Digital Strategist / Concept Developer. E: nvshipilova@gmail.com