Why is Russia our enemy?

Jordan Pine
DebatingDonald
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

Surya,

I’m of the opinion that we should keep these exchanges about what’s most prominent in the news right now. For instance, I would love to engage with you on global warming, but we can wait. I’m sure it will be in the news any day now.

This week, the hot topic is Russia. I’d love to move past the conspiracy theories, hypotheticals and sore-loser stuff about how Russia cost Hillary the election, and focus on a genuine question I have: Why is Russia our enemy?*

Here are three thoughts I have whenever I hear pundits talking about the Russian threat:

  • The 1980s are now calling to ask for their foreign policy back. The Cold War has been over for 20 years.
  • These guys talk like they’ve only seen Russia by watching Rocky IV.
  • I think these guys have been watching too many episodes of that FX show, The Americans.

Just kidding. Those first two zingers are lines Democrats used to mock Mitt Romney in 2012 for saying Russia was our “number one geopolitical foe.” That first sick burn was President Obama’s, and John Kerry said the second line. (I added the third one to help Kerry’s line out with a reference this generation might get.)

Joking aside, I tend to agree with Obama in 2012. What has happened in four years that suddenly made it the 1980s again?

Put another way: So what if the U.S. and Russia become friendlier now? Isn’t that good for us, especially when it comes to the global war on terrorism and the growing IS threat?

You seem to know a lot more about this then I do. I confess I have not yet read Russia: Inside the Bear, the lengthy Economist piece you sent me. Maybe you can do it justice in this small space and set me straight? Should I want to punch Vladimir Putin in the face the way Rocky Balboa punched Ivan Drago?

Jordan

  • Full disclosure: I am of Russia descent on my Jewish side. Technically, I am of Belarusian descent since my maternal grandfather came to America from Minsk.

Read Surya’s response.

--

--

Jordan Pine
DebatingDonald

Writer, direct marketing expert, former journalist, former soldier, skydiver, scuba diver, world traveler, devoted husband & proud father. jordanpine.com