Jorge’s $65K Debt

I’m an idiot.

Matter
Debt Collection
1 min readJun 26, 2014

--

I graduated from The Art Institute of California, believing that a degree in tech would lead to high paying jobs and the story that I was sold on was anything but reality. I graduated in 2007, I had 65,000 in student loans, and I went on to my career.

I could not land a web design job for more than $9 an hour. 6 months after graduation the payments needed to get started, and it ruined my marriage. Now divorced, I figured out a way to stop the loan payments, get a master’s degree.

Now I read that Humanities is in decline, and guess what master’s degree I’m chasing?

With few job prospects, and deferment, I found a way to make money that no one in America seems to want. Micro-payment article writing for $0.006 a word. I work 80 hours a week sometimes more, and I make it….but while student loans are in deferment while I try to finish a master’s degree in a failing genre/discipline.

I’m an idiot.

--

--