Dare! Or how to saved 6M euro in routine HR job

Ekaterina Turkevich
Decathlon Digital
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2020

Once upon a time, 12 years ago when I was looking for the job, I was proposed to join Decathlon and I decided to join just for 2 years. The mission of the company “to make sport accessible to the many” , we creating, producing and selling sport goods. Sound good and I like sport, but I dream about amazing career, so, I have to see different companies and to test different jobs.

From the very fist day, when I came to my manager and proposed some ideas, new projects to do, process to change, I received the only answer: Dare!

I changed many positions and in 2015 I was responsible for all legal processes and documentation, I did unless audit: visiting branches, checking document, explaining legal rules… once and once again several times per year. I was feed up and decided to build an ideal HR world. So there were just 2 conditions: to have fully electronic documents flow, to be able to check everything distance and ideally by some algorithm; to have all HR processes form A to Z in one place, simple to use for teammates.

I draw main business processes, checked solution on the marker, calculated ROI, came to my leader and asked 380K euro, he answered: Dare!

It wasn’t easy at all but in 9 months, 15 teammates of Decathlon and 5 external expert built HR platform “Enisey” within: payroll, planning, recruitment, onboarding, trainings online and offline, internal social network, goals and performance, competence evaluation, salary review, talent pools, reports, analytic and of course, electronic documents flow.

Enisey river, Siberia, Russia

Why we named it “Enisey”? It is the river in Russia, in Siberia, it goes form north to south through whole county, very strong and powerful but in the same time very rich and useful for people and I believed our HR platform can be so.

We dare and as a result during last 4 years we have:

  • saving of 6M of euro
  • all data in 1 place
  • decreasing of legal risks
  • we saved time of our employees in 50% on the routine hr processes
  • pure and transparent processes for teammates

Also it helped us a lot to live COVID lockdown period as we can sign all document on distance in 1 minute.

The key of success was people from different parts of the company, who sincerely involved and driven by creating valuable and useful product.

Thanks for reading!

🙏🏼 If you enjoyed the article, please consider giving it a few 👏👏👏.

💌 Learn more about tech products opened to the community and subscribe to our newsletter on http://developers.decathlon.com

👩‍💻? 👨‍💻? Interested in joining Decathlon Tech Team? Check out https://developers.decathlon.com/careers

--

--