People in Tech — Interview with Ben Amar Kacimi

Pablo Fuentes Gómez
Decathlon Digital
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2021

This post is the first of our new “People in Tech” series, where we discuss and share with our Technology experts their personal and professional journeys.

Ben Amar Kacimi joined Decathlon a little over three months ago as an Engineering Director for the Member Platform Team. He’s forty-five, married, and dad to a little girl as well.

What are your favorite sports?
Regarding sports practices, I tried a bit of everything. So I played tennis, soccer, aikido, running, cycling, skiing and recently I tried krav maga.

What are your previous work experiences?
I have 22 years of experience in the field of digitalization and e-commerce. Before coming to Decathlon I was a VP of Engineering at Cdiscount, and before that, I worked for JCDecaux and the Oui.Sncf.

These experiences allowed me to form convictions that I would like to share with you. These are sharing, and technology.

Can you please tell us more about sharing?
I acquired this conviction in the first part of my career when I was a developer. During this 9-year period, I evolved in my way of doing things, in my way of conceiving and thinking about things, and the great markers of my evolution occurred mainly during the encounters I was lucky enough to have.

I met people I admired and who, by showing me my mistakes, my shortcomings, by suggesting readings, by directing me towards conferences, allowed me to grow in my profession, to question and improve my practices and thus to blossom to the point of transforming my daily activity of developer into a passion.

What about technology?
When I say technology I mean it as a formidable lever for company performance. During my 13 years as a technical director, first, at Oui.sncf and then at Cdiscount, I was keen to influence the speed of delivery of my teams, the quality, performance, and resilience of our solutions.

Each time, technology and innovation have allowed us to go beyond our limits and accelerate our ability to deliver value while controlling the quality of our solutions, our deliverables, and the stability of the services we provide to our customers and partners.

Lastly, why did you join Decathlon and the Member platform?
I find all the elements I have mentioned, and more, in the challenges that are on the road for the Member platform and also in our collective ambition to become a digital Giant.

I am therefore delighted and very honored to join you in taking up all these great challenges.

I thank you all, and I look forward to working on the Decathlon team.

Don’t miss our next #peopleintech stories !

🙏🏼 If you enjoy reading this article, please consider giving it a few 👏👏👏.

💌 Follow our latest posts on Twitter and LinkedIn and discover our sport tech initiatives like open APIs on our developers website 🚀

👩‍💻? 👨‍💻? Interested in joining Decathlon Tech Team? check out our carriers portal to see the different exciting opportunities !

--

--