Decent Team Spotlight: Saroj

Saroj Chintakrindi
Decent
Published in
3 min readJun 20, 2018

What is your role at Decent?

I joined this Decent this summer as an intern to work on the incentive distribution mechanism and blockchain due diligence. Essentially, my role involves figuring out how to integrate the blockchain aspects of Decent’s technology into the overall vision in the most secure and user-friendly way possible.

What is your background?

I just finished up my sophomore year at UC Berkeley, where I’m studying Mathematics and Computer Science. In high school, I was convinced that I would end up as a mathematics researcher covered in chalk dust in some dusty classroom, and I honestly wasn’t too happy with this. Once I got to college, I learned about blockchain technology, and I realized that blockchain is a space that was a combination of everything I’m interested in: cryptography, game theory, economics, computer science. I dove in headfirst. I’ve been involved in the blockchain space for about a year and a half now through Blockchain at Berkeley, doing everything from blockchain consulting for Fortune 500 companies, to creating an online blockchain course, to cryptoeconomic research on Proof-of-Stake protocols.

Why were you motivated to join Decent?

While I was exploring career options, I became intrigued by fintech and quant work, but I soon realized that I wanted to work on something more fulfilling and impactful. I saw a job listing for Decent on Blockchain at Berkeley’s public slack and I realized that it was a startup with a meaningful vision, one that I could be passionate about. I found the team to be incredibly intelligent, and incredibly supportive, so it was a no brainer. Decent was the place for me.

Why is improving healthcare important to you?

Healthcare is an industry that’s plagued by obscene inefficiencies, making it painfully expensive and inaccessible to many people around America. “Can I afford to get this checked out?” is a question that should be eliminated. Being healthy is a basic need, and I want to build the technology that puts healthcare within reach for everybody.

Describe something not-work related you are passionate about.

From what you’ve read so far, I probably seem like a hardcore nerd, but I try my best to stay balanced. Outside of school and blockchain, I’m a competitive powerlifter. I’ve won the California State Championship for my weight class, and I’ve qualified for Nationals three times. The gym is somewhere where I can forget about the rest of my life and relieve stress in a productive manner. It’s become an integral part of my life over the past few years, and it’s definitely helped build my discipline and confidence.

A flattering action shot of me during a meet this past December

--

--