Hi, I am Shine. I work at Decent!

Shine Lee
Decent
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2018

What is your role at Decent?

I am an senior blockchain engineer at Decent. My role is to help design and implement blockchain systems and protocols that support the healthcare product we are building.

What is your background?

I started out in the cryptocurrency space as a miner (for various coins, mostly to help me get better understanding about the technical aspect of blockchains) for about a year and a half.

Then I joined WeTrust as a first employee, helping them build MVP and ran a successful ICO. Later, I led the engineering team building the first version of TLC (Trusted Lending Circles) dApp and designed blockchain components of many other projects within WeTrust.

Why were you motivated to join Decent?

I want my career to be about making positive impact in the world with the mindset of looking for 10x improvement rather than 10%. I also want my work to be something I can be proud of and I think Decent’s ambitious goals to provide “affordable healthcare for all” is something I can definitely checks that box.

Decent is great group of talented, passionate people with an ambitious goal to help improve people’s healthcare. What more could I ask for

Why is improving healthcare important to you?

I was born and raised in a country called Myanmar a.k.a. Burma. While I was growing up, I went on many missionary trips where I met a lot of individuals that suffer from diseases that can be easily be cured by having access to a decent health care. I’ve also met people who are well into their middle age that had never even been to see a doctor.

I want to build a better healthcare system for those people that need it regardless of their location or financial status.

Describe something not-work related you are passionate about.

I would have to say Music (singing in particular).

Originally started out as a hobby but over the years, it has became a stress reliever and an artistic outlet in my life.

You’ll probably hear me humming or singing songs when you hang out with me. Feel free to join in!

--

--