zekker

DECENTfans
DECENTfans
Published in
4 min readJul 18, 2018

Miner ID: zekker

Hello reader, I am very glad that you looked to me. In this post, I would like to publish my proposal as a candidate for the miners (block producer , witness, delagate) of the DECENT project. If you have not heard about DECENT, please check out their updated official website: https://decent.ch

For reference, the miner in DECENT is not the same as the Bitcoin or Ethereum miner, there is not a huge amount of computing power required to solve complex mathematical equations, and instead you need community approval (in the form of votes) to nominate you as active miners , which is given the right to check transactions and create blocks, all because of the fact that to achieve consensus in DECENT, the DPoS algorithm is used instead of PoW, you can read more about it here, here and here.

Why am I doing this now?

I have been watching the project for a long time (since the launch of the main network), and I saw how potential candidates for miners are suffering, while the project team ignored their interests and did nothing to help them. They had to teach technically unskilled people how to use a console wallet and which teams to recruit to vote, while proving to potential voters that all these actions will not lead to the loss of their means. It looked really hard and painful. But fortunately this year the team heard about this pain of the miners and decided to help them in this difficult matter. They developed several voting tools with an intuitive and user-friendly graphical interface. Therefore, I certainly decided not to miss such a chance and also to put forward my candidacy for a vote.

Who am i?

I am a resident of our vast planet, I was born and live in Russia. My name is Alexey, I’m 30 years old. The main profession I am engaged in is called “health and safety engineer”, briefly, I help people to work in good conditions, as required by this legislation. In addition, I have long been keen on the IT world, know Linux quite well and have a passion for exploring everything new, so I actually got into the world of cryptocurrency.

Why should you vote for me?

If you do not already know, the main quality of a good delegate is the stable operation of its node, which supports the work of the entire network, and a quick reaction to changing the network. As I told you before, I’m not bad at Linux, and creating delegate nodes is easy for me. I rented two servers (on different hosting sites) and installed and configured the DCore software necessary for servicing the DECENT network. A little bit more about my servers:

The main server (main miner node)

Location: United States
Processor cores: 16
RAM: 16 GB
Disk subsystem: 250 Gb SSD
Network: Unlim 1 Gbit/sec
Operating system: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS

Backup server (backup miner node & seed node)

Location: Italy
Processor cores: 4
RAM: 4 GB
Disk subsystem: 160 Gb SSD
Network: Unlim 1 Gbit/sec
Operating system: Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS

Yes, as you could see besides the miner node, I also started the seed node to help decentralize the DECENT network, so I ask you to add my seed node to your configuration files:

seed-node = dcore.zekker.ga:40000

How to vote?

Now you have three options to choose from. The simplest of them is to use the recently released DECENT voting tool: https://voting.decent.ch/

Just scroll down the page to my “zekker” miner and press the Vote button opposite. You will be asked to log in using your account name and your private key (or using wallet.json) and confirm your voice with a transaction.

The second option is to use your desktop wallet DECENT, here it’s as simple as that, just go to the voting page and find my miner “zekker” and give it a vote.

And the third option, for those who are not looking for easy ways to use your console wallet cli_wallet, just run it, unlock it and write the command:

vote_for_miner your_account zekker true true

Cheers
ˆ_ˆ

--

--

DECENTfans
DECENTfans

We are the community behind DECENT, supporting all community-driven projects and initiatives. However, we do not represent DECENT or its affiliates in any way.