The Decentraland token sale has been rescheduled to ensure complete regulatory compliance

Ari Meilich
Aug 4, 2017 · 1 min read

A few major blockchain events have taken place over recent weeks. On August 1st, Bitcoin experienced a hard-fork, giving birth to Bitcoin Cash. Separately, the SEC provided much-needed guidance on token sale regulation.

After thoroughly reviewing the latest regulatory announcements, we’re reassured that our MANA token is not a security. We take regulatory compliance seriously, and are allocating some extra time to consult with our legal teams. We’ve revised our token sale dates to reflect these extra measures.

Our amended crowdsale schedule now begins on August 17, 5:00 PM PST / 8:00 PM EST in the US, August 18, 1:00 AM in the UK, and August 18, 8:00 AM in China. All other details of the crowdsale will remain the same.

During the extension period, Decentraland will continue to actively work with advisors and legal entities to ensure we maintain complete regulatory compliance.

We appreciate the community’s patience, understanding, and overwhelming support as we continue to build Decentraland into a truly shared, decentralized virtual reality world.

Decentraland

A blockchain-based virtual reality world.

Ari Meilich

Written by

Decentraland.org

Decentraland

A blockchain-based virtual reality world.

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade