Here’s the Truth: You Need to be 110% Ready Before Leaving Your Full-Time Job

Declan Wilson
Declan’s Blog

--

I was once a huge proponent for the whole ditch-your-9-to-5-right-now-and-follow-your-passion. I’ve changed my mind since.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still a firm believer that traditional corporate-America isn’t as safe and secure of a career route that it once was.

However, before you cast away the cubicle and begin building your own career understand this:

No one tells you how lonely and difficult it is being in full control of your career.

Before you leave you need to be 110% ready. Meaning you need to…

  • Have a substantial amount of savings stashed away somewhere for the months you struggle to find business
  • Have a legitimate business model to bring in consistent revenue every month
  • Have a support network in place of other individuals who are treading down similar career routes
  • Become mentally tough

You know how many of those things I did before I left my job in June? About 0.5, aka half of one of those things.

Be ready. Be 110% ready before making this drastic career change.

I’m living through it now and it’s not easy.

I’m documenting my entrepreneurial journey on YouTube. Subscribe so you don’t miss my next vlog!

--

--

Declan Wilson
Declan’s Blog

I'm not currently active on Medium but you can see what I'm up to here→ declanwilson.co/start-here