Day 3 on Yogic Life Style Experiments: Pain is a part of the process

AK
DeCluttered LifeStyle
4 min readApr 25, 2018

“None of us today can fucking handle our emotions — most of us are running around being reactive, That’s why I had to stop touring because I couldn’t read my emotions the right way. The whole thing was about success for the sake of success. I wasn’t getting any happiness anymore.” — Swedish DJ Avicii

It is Day 3:

Yogic lifestyle experiment. UN-dying trail. Its day 3 of the documentary.

Loads of new variations. The thing that I would like to share today is padmasana. Padmasana is a hard seating posture. And I happen to seat for around 15 minutes in it. Initially, it was the pain in the ankle joints. But then it disappears as we start doing Pranayama and Mudras.

After the practice, I just could not move my right leg. Immense pain like someone has hit hammer in it. You can imagine. Khyati kept on asking what happens to my leg. I don’t want to give her impression of pain. So I drink it.

But here is the point. During the practice, there was no pain. It is not the case that there was no pain. There was a lot of pain, but my consciousness went somewhere else. Into the silence and cold feeling in the mind.

It is a simple lesson that we have a lot of thing going on in our body. And we are not aware of them because our consciousness is roaming somewhere else.

We are not aware of what all are going wrong with our health. Our body gives us thousands of signals, but we do not listen to them; we are dwelling somewhere else.

In general in life that is what happens.

We will be aware of only the things where we are focused more. Same things: If you focus more on things which are not good, you will not find good. But if you focus on good then despite thousands of bad you will manage to find good.

Pain is part of the process:

Practices of yogic elements train our consciousness in such a way, so we start becoming aware of signals that our internal organs send to our brain.

And there is something special about the pain. We should not run away from it. It helps us to live in present moment. And it is a signal, not a problem. Problem is an opportunity to solve something which is not right. So pain is a great friend.

Yoga gives you a lot of pain and discomfort as you do various yogic exercises. It’s not easy. In one perspective, it is a lifestyle of embracing the pain to find freedom of body and mind.

Pain is a part of the process. Once you become better and better in practice, you will realize the happiness it gives. It is a practical philosophy as discussed earlier.

I am a new anyway. That is what I am perceiving as of now.

Who is the Trainer:

As part of the discussion I asked Khyati to share one of her primary thought of making yoga as a carrier option.

“I wanted to do something different.” , Khyati.

Different here does not mean just for the sake of different. I will try to bring more light as move on. The outcome of the word Different is derived from our core value. What we think about what we value more. Our mind starts searching the spots then.

Khyati has done her graduation and post graduation in Yoga and psychology. She is unlike most of the yoga trainer that we see around us. Most of them received training for three months or 6 months of teachers preparation of some yogic certification. Khyati has been in their for 5 years. It is something fascinating to learn and practice from experts.

Hope: I am in a good hands.

Things are little tricky for me as I am still without a yoga mat. I won’t say. No, but I have less intention of buying. Practicing frugality is on my mind these days.

Yogic Diet (From our 10 minute simple discussion):

Today we also discussed for around 10 minutes on the Yogic diet. My diet is not in the line of what we can consider as good health. I have been eating less food and that too of less healthy.

The first suggestion for me is to drink two glass of water with mouth saliva. And second to take the king like breakfast, prince-like lunch, and beggar like dinner. That is general advice I will dig into more on the specialization of what to eat and what not as my session progress. Otherwise, it will be too much overwhelming to my mind.

Key Take Away:

1. Yogic exercises if appropriately done improve the practitioner mindfulness about not just body and health but for any activity. Mindfulness or living in the present moment is an essential aspect of every person no matter what is the field he is in. Especially in the corporate world because they are full of stress with thousands of things roaming in their mind. Daily yogic exercises can bring them back to life. (Something to think)

2. Yoga is not about turning your body parts in different weird position as part of stretching; it is much beyond that. (Keep this in mind)

3. Drink two glass of water with mouth saliva as first thing in the morning. ( Try as an experiment)

4. Take king like breakfast, prince-like lunch, and beggar like dinner. ( Try as an experiment)

That’s it for this article friends. Let me know if you want to hear any specific experience or thing from me. I would include those things here.

This is a series and chunk by chunk I will cover every possible detail into this. As we already know if we try to put too much in the same article it will not only be overwhelming, but it will not make sense. And I am experimenting things too chunk by chunk.

A. K. MARS

Philosopher, Coach and Author of the “The Hackers Code : The great prison escape project and ways to fly high in life.”

--

--