10 Things I Did As a Christian That Now I Realize Is Not Normal

#10 Viewing Non-Christians as Lost Souls

Ava
GOLD
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2023

--

Photo by Chris Liverani on Unsplash

Growing up in a devout Christian household, my life was centered around faith, prayer, and church activities. Everything I did revolved around the teachings of Christianity, and I never questioned the norms that had been ingrained in me since childhood. It was only later in life, as I began to explore the world outside of my religious bubble, that I came to realize just how abnormal some of my past behaviors and beliefs were.

In this article, I’ll share ten things I did as a Christian that, upon reflection, I now see as not normal.

Praying for Every Little Thing

As a devout Christian, I used to pray for everything, from finding my lost homework to getting a good parking spot. It was like having a direct hotline to God for even the smallest of concerns. Looking back, I realize that constantly seeking divine intervention for trivial matters hindered my ability to take responsibility for my own life.

2. Guilt Over Natural Human Desires

--

--

Ava
GOLD
Editor for

My one-person business retired me at 25 years old. Don’t know how to start one? I’ll show you 👉 https://tinyurl.com/3ts5b78e