Ain’t No Hurt Like A Church Hurt

This is a pain that is hard to let go of…

Aniyah
Deconstructing Christianity
2 min readOct 9, 2023

--

Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This post is not meant to offend anyone’s religion. I am only sharing my experience – if you are offended…🤷🏽‍♀️.

Ain't no party like a holy ghost party?

So, are you all partying, as I’m feeling sorry?

Sorry for what you may ask.

Let me begin because this is not an easy task

Standing there with tears in my eyes

Nervously waiting to hear the sighs

From the congregation

As I endure my first church tribulation,

All because of my infatuation

Which many said would cost me my salvation

I will never be elevated

I’m under heavy sedation

To remove the pain that you said I have caused

My life was on pause

Yes, I sinned, just like the others

But they weren’t here at the altar

My heart ripped out in embarrassment

Constantly dealing with harassment…

Photo by Justin Main on Unsplash

The building they say you must come

But no one sees or hears what’s being done

Gossip, pain, and frustration

All of this added pain to my situation

Forget your salutations

Of praise the lord

As I became abhorred

With those words

Those words meant nothing to me

Can’t you see?

I’m breaking at the seams

Thinking this must be a dream

The happiest day of my life

Was stained with strife

Brokenness and unforgiveness

My heart is still filled with that sickness

That the church offered me as a sign to humble me

Which was my insanity

Unlovable I am

That’s what they say

But I know can be

Vital even to this very day

Yes your words broke me

I was low for a while

But now you see

That I walk with a smile

Because you couldn’t break me

With the lies of Christianity

I am walking free, and that is where I will stay

Because I learned the hard way

That the present moment you can’t pervert

Because I know Ain’t no hurt like a church hurt. 🙏🏽

For all those who have experienced pain from any religion, I want you to know you are not alone. I see you, and I understand you – hugs to you, friend. You will heal from it, as I’m still in the process of healing. ❤️💐

--

--

Aniyah
Deconstructing Christianity

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma