An Ex-Christian Watches ‘Rich Mullins: A Ragamuffin’s Legacy’

An Evangelical saint encouraged in his self-neglect and depression

Lora Dobreva
Deconstructing Christianity

--

Screencap from ‘Rich Mullins: A Ragamuffin’s Legacy’, © Rich Mullins, the Movie LLC, Color Green Films

Rich Mullins was a Christian singer and songwriter. His first brush with success was in 1982, when Amy Grant covered his song Sing Your Praise to the Lord for her breakthrough album. In 1988 the song Awesome God became a huge hit on Christian radio, and it has since been listed as one of the greatest worship songs and covered by numerous artists.

When Rich started earning from his music, he didn’t want to know how much he was making. He arranged for the money to go into churches, charity and missions, except for a salary for him, which was to be the average amount for the U.S. We lost Rich Mullins in 1997, when he was 41.

Rich Mullins: A Ragamuffin’s Legacy is a 2014 documentary directed by David Leo. It’s on Amazon Prime here and on YouTube here. It is two hours long. I’m going to quote and comment on some parts of it.

Perhaps we should start with my street cred. I went to my old YouTube profile where my mom and I would upload videos back when I was a Christian. I wanted to see how many Rich Mullins songs I translated into Bulgarian. This one for example, Sometimes by Step.

--

--

Lora Dobreva
Deconstructing Christianity

I write about metal music, the ex-Christian experience, and LGBT issues. I co-host the Meowcore podcast. Insta: ditchqueenbg