As a Young Pastor, I Was Forbidden to Share the Truth about the Christian Faith

The church leadership chastised me for revealing the knowledge I learned in seminary

Sheng-Ta Tsai
Deconstructing Christianity

--

AI-generated picture; DALL-E

For over a year, I’ve been pondering about writing on this topic. But I kept putting it off because I worried people would dismiss my experiences as rare, even though I know they’re common.

(Read this article for free here)

Recently, I watched a YouTube video with snippets of interviews featuring Bible scholars. They pointed out that pastors often pick and choose what they share with their congregations. That’s when I decided it was time to finally tackle this subject.

Pastors, that were trained in biblical studies … they went to seminary … they’ve been working on the sources, and doing history. And then they come to the reality that they have to actually preach to their congregations and they cannot always say what they’ve learned. — André Gagné, PhD

--

--

Sheng-Ta Tsai
Deconstructing Christianity

I write on Psychology, Religion, Self Improvement and Data Science. Visit my digital template shop: https://digitallife1.etsy.com