Christian Nationalism Reading List

Six books to pick up from your library or local indie bookstore

Brigitte.
Deconstructing Christianity

--

One of my many special interests is doing deep dives into evangelicalism both to deconstruct the tradition in which I grew up but also to understand how these toxic fundamentalist beliefs are affecting the culture and politics of the United States. (As well as current events around the world.)

These are six of the best books that I have read covering the interrelated elements of evangelicalism, fundamentalism, Christian nationalism, White supremacy, and fascism.

Religious Right: The Greatest Threat to Democracy by A.F. Alexander (2012)

I read this book almost exactly ten years ago. At the time, I remember thinking, “IDK, some of these predictions seem a little over the top. Maybe take a grain or two of salt with this.” Even though I grew up in these evangelical circles hearing some of this rhetoric, I was a little hesitant to think we could end up in the worst timeline because of these folks and their beliefs. I don’t think that anymore. Every unhinged statement by some fundie member of Congress or diabolically cruel ruling issued by the Supreme Court kind of confirms it.

--

--

Brigitte.
Deconstructing Christianity

Writer. Graphic Designer. Content Creator. Artist. Immigrant. Neurodivergent. | Instagram + Threads @brigitte.bohemienne | patreon.com/frenchifique