“What I Believe Is Better Than What You Believe So Convert Or Die.”

Either submit or die, what would you choose?

Aniyah
Deconstructing Christianity
4 min readNov 19, 2023

--

Photo by Lily Banse on Unsplash

This post was inspired by a dear friend of mine, Willow Reed. Thank you, hun.

There was a time when I thought there was no error in religion. I aligned myself with everything, even if, on the inside, I disagreed with it. When I sit back and observe how I used to be, I can humbly say I was a trash person. To put someone in hell because they didn’t believe how I believed was evil. Plain and simple. I justified it under the guise that god loves you so much, and all you have to do is love him back, which leads me to the heading of this post.

Photo by Richard Pennystan on Unsplash

When someone is condemned for not believing as they do, it’s a sick tactic. Having this thought process is the same as murdering someone if they believe differently from you. It’s a type of colonization. They think evil thoughts towards others because they may live differently from your religious text.

They have a desire to have this type of god rulership over people. Some individuals who profess Christianity have some of the darkest thoughts towards others because their god is that way, so they are justified in their minds.

We know from history that there was a lot of bloodshed in the name of religion. We don’t talk about the rape that took place because of religion. We don’t talk about the pain of forgetting ourselves. We don’t talk about certain verses that may trigger a reaction from them, such as

Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; 6 Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; 7 With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men: 8 Knowing that whatsoever good thing any man doeth, the same shall he receive of the Lord, whether he be bond or free. Ephesians 6:5–8

This is one of the many verses that stir up self-righteousness in said believer. So you’re telling me this is better than having my freedom? And if I don’t convert to this way of thinking, I’m going to die? Keep it.

Photo by Katherine Conrad on Unsplash

Whenever I heard this verse, something inside me would get highly irritable. But I would dust it off as well. As I said in my last post, it is mental molestation that had my mind like this (this was several years ago, and I no longer agree with that AT ALL.)

To have a desire to want to conquer people to make them believe as you do is sickening. They think that “if you don’t serve my Jeezus, then you will go to hell.” This society that we live in is one of control and dominance. To believe that they have all the answers is truly disturbing, and the attitude behind their action is, “Oh well, I’m right, and you’re wrong, and you better submit to me or else.”

Religion has destroyed nations’ and caused so much division. They wanted everyone to be under their spell, so this is why people use religion as a tool to control the weak.

Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

However, there comes a time in each individual’s life when the chains will begin to break. The spelling words have run their course, and finally, I could take back what rightfully belongs to me, which is my mind. I have a brain to think for myself and not as leadership wants me to believe. The time of religious wars and indoctrination is coming to an end, and it’s happening at a rapid speed.

People can no longer use religion to control the minds and hearts of the people. After thousands of years of waiting, there comes a moment when you realize that maybe it’s time for us to begin to think and ask questions. Ask the hard questions if you have to.

No one should have to be put to death or condemned to hell because of a different belief. It’s wrong, and it will always be wrong. And I will never agree with something that I question ever again. Life can be enjoyed even with different perspectives. We just have to choose to embrace our differences. 🙏🏽

--

--

Aniyah
Deconstructing Christianity

I believe writing can heal the soul from emotional trauma