How I Bought My First Bitcoin

Discover how to buy bitcoin in 4 minutes or less.

Dani Amsalem
decryptionary
4 min readNov 3, 2017

--

Buying My First Crypto — Stick-Figure by Decryptionary.com

In my first article I introduced you to the subject of cryptocurrency. Moving on, I knew I had to buy some of this odd digital money.

I checked out bitcoin’s price only to find a single coin costing multiple thousands of dollars. I did some Googling and discovered there are other alternative coins “altcoins” available at a wide variety of prices, each offering a unique value.

Having selected a couple of altcoins I wanted, I needed to figure out how to buy them. The following is the simple process I took in buying my first cryptocurrencies.

Please note, nothing published by me or Decryptionary constitutes an investment recommendation, nor should any data or content published by Decryptionary be relied upon for any investment activities. Just because this was the easiest way for me to buy my first cryptocurrency, does not mean it is best for you.

My Process

Using Coinbase

Coinbase.com is a website where you can buy and sell 3 of the most popular cryptocurrencies: bitcoin, ethereum and litecoin.

When you create an account with that link, you can get $10 free, if you buy/sell $100 of digital currency. And they will give me $10 so I can buy 2 bubble teas for my wife and I.

Coinbase.com

1. Enter your email and click on [Get Started].

Coinbase.com

2. Enter your name, a password, select the state you live in, check the box to confirm you are a person, check the box to confirm over 18 and agree to their terms and click on [Create Account].

Coinbase.com

3. It will ask you to go to your email and click on a verification link sent to you. If you can’t find your verification email, refresh your mailbox and check your spam folder.

Coinbase.com

4. When you get the email, click on the [Verify Email Address] button.

Coinbase.com

5. You are now on the Coinbase website and a green banner at the top will tell you your email has been verified. Enter your email address and password.

Coinbase.com

6. You are now in your new account.

7. You’ll need to add your phone number for what is known as 2 Factor Authentication or 2FA. 2FA makes your account more secure by using your phone to verify you actually using your account. Details in the free PDF.

8. Next you’ll need to set up a method of purchasing cryptocurrencies. Details in the free PDF.

9. Then you will purchase some cryptocurrency. Details in the free PDF.

Want to know more?

You can find the free PDF with all of the instructions and images at:

About Decryptionary

My mission with Decryptionary is crypto made simple.

Decryptionary is a cryptocurrency and blockchain dictionary. It contains over 200 simple definitions, and awesome 4th-grade, stick-figure images to make this complex subject easy as pie.

Beyond a Dictionary — Stick-Figure by Decryptionary.com

Decryptionary is more than just a dictionary. It also has simple walkthroughs and word lists to make sure you really understand the basics of crypto.

Walkthroughs — Stick-Figure by Decryptionary.com

If you liked this story, please hit the 👏 a few times. It’s the same as “liking” and means you recommend this article to others and it helps them find this.

I’ve got other articles just like this available in Decryptionary’s publication. Please follow me and Decryptionary using the link below.

If you have any questions, comments or feedback, please share it below. I’ll get back to you.

--

--

Dani Amsalem
decryptionary

I'll show you how to understand cryptocurrency and blockchain. Learn more at Decryptionary.com