Deds Update — May 2

Drew Thomas
Dedaverse
2 min readMay 3, 2022

--

Oops! It’s May, and we still didn’t mint! 😂 I addressed this in the last update… no more timelines for the project, but no pre-mint hype either. Once the contract is live and minting is open, then I’ll start hyping it. This is the way.

Read that update here: https://medium.com/dedaverse/deds-update-4-21-22-d62f9b789bce

Onto the update…

Found a contract exploit 😬

First and foremost, I found a ridiculous hole in my contract that would have allowed people who know what they’re doing (even just barely know) to mint unlimited free ghosts from the contract.

All they’d need to do is mint anything through Opensea and then pass that token ID into the freeMint function.

To fix this, I created a merkle root for the original 250 Deds, and now I check two things… first that you own the tokenID, next that the token ID is actually a ghost.

Option to mint multiple

The Deds art is customizable before minting… which means it really only lends itself to single mints. You design one, then you mint it.

I’ve been struggling with this, though, because I think it’ll be hard to sell 2000+ NFTs with one-at-a-time mints. I wish that weren’t the case, but it just is right now.

To solve this dilemma, I came up with a new system… you choose to either design first and mint a single, or you can mint up to 8 in one transaction and design/claim them afterwards.

We talked about doing this for Bildr web3 passes also, since a few people have minted multiple directly from the contract. We never implemented, but we probably will if this all works.

Hats and a fanny pack 🤷‍♂️

I made a Deds hat for myself, and I’ve been getting compliments on it. I don’t want to do merch really, but I ended up creating two colorways for the hat and a sick fanny pack based on one of the photos in the ghost artwork.

I hope it looks cool in real life… samples will be here soon.

--

--