The Importance of Being Honest About Depression

--

Yesterday I had an episode. Not a big one, but an episode none the less.

Work had finished and my brain just decided it had had enough and switched off. I went into auto pilot. I could not put any emotion in my voice, I was mumbling, slurring and felt nothing.

I had not noticed, but my eldest daughter had! She gave me a massive hug and asked if I was ok. I told her I wasn’t and she hugged me again and gave me some advice I had given her in the past and her own counsellor had given her. Scream into a pillow, do some exercise, or talk to someone and hug them. So I talked to her and hugged her. It helped. A lot.

My wife was next to notice, and the same thing happened. Chatted and hugged.

None of this could have happened if I was secretive about how my version of depression affects me. I am open (some might say too open) about the difficulties it can cause. Some may find this uncomfortable, luckily I no longer care about their comfort when it comes to my mental health!

That is part of the problem. We are programmed to not mention mental health, it is a weakness. Sure there are mental health awareness days and health and wellbeing drives in offices, where half the world says they have suffered from depression and the other half say how sympathetic and understanding they are, but that is not the day to day reality of mental health.

It is improving but has a long way to go yet. If you are suffering, tell those around you that you are suffering. If they are uncomfortable with that, sod them! Surround yourself with people who aren’t, or help them to get educated on the topic.

Thank you to me heroes, my family, for understanding and helping me every day. Without them, I genuinely don’t want to think about what life would be.

--

--

Andrzej Marczewski
Depression, Anxiety and Mental Health

Gamification consultant and designer, social media lover, games reviewer at @yarstweet, author of http://amzn.to/IvmEG1, husband & father of 2