Road to 100 — Cycling

Brian Lenahan
Deep Health
Published in
5 min readMar 7, 2021

Rob Kowal’s Personal Story

My Deep Health co-author, Brian Lenahan, recently wrote an article posted on medium.com entitled “Road to 100”. In it, Brian highlights a 99-year-old man whose fitness regime mirrors that of someone decades younger and how his commitment to exercise keeps him fitter than most many years younger (he certainly does not look 99).

Living healthy to 100 is not as rare as it used to be. My goal is to live to 100 (and beyond), but to do so by extending my “health-span.” We hear stories of individuals living a long life in a declining state of health, yet that’s not something I want to experience. I am 63 years old and based on my health metrics (those I track on my apple watch and smartphone), I am in excellent shape for my age group and better than the average fitness level of many 20 years younger. This is not a boast, rather proof that a higher level of fitness can be reached and maintained later in life.

My Fitness Regimen

I do many things to improve my odds of staying healthy (my run-in with prostate cancer aside). Organic fruits and vegetables are a staple in my house, avoiding ultra-processed foods and industrial oils (we use avocado and olive oil only). We consume grass-fed beef and minimize alcohol consumption (a glass of wine 3–4 times per week). My cheat is that extra slice of gluten-free pizza or another bowl of avocado oil chips. Hydration is critical and 4 litres of water per day is my target (more after a workout). According to my Apple Watch, I get plenty of sleep, averaging 7.3 hours per night (2.5 hours of deep sleep), and try to sneak in the occasional afternoon nap. Daily exercise is vital for me (6 days per week. 1-day rest). I have a strength training program that I practice 3–4 times per week, including push-ups, planks, dumbbell, and barbell routines for arms, squats, and stretching.

Cycling

My exercise of choice over the last five years has been cycling. In my younger years, especially during my hockey playing days, my knees took quite a pounding. Today, I find that long walks (over 5 km) result in soreness and achy knees for days afterward. Running is out of the question for me.

So, I sought out a different athletic pursuit, and cycling was the answer for me. I’m certainly not alone. According to the 2018 US National Library of Medicine (USNLM) titled ‘Geriatric Cyclists: Assessing Risks, Safety, and Benefits’ by Ikpeze et al “the number of elderly cyclists has increased steadily and studies have cited ease of use, need for exercise, and enjoyment as important contributing factors.”

Cycling, for me, is a low impact activity that offers many other benefits, including:

  • Cardiovascular health
  • heart rate and heart rate variability, blood pressure regulation, etc.
  • Slows aging
  • Boosts immunity
  • Increases muscle mass, endurance, and stamina
  • Allows you to explore your surroundings
  • Great social interaction
  • Loads of fun!

When I first started cycling, I started slow. My brother-in-law gave me one of his old bikes (it turns out it was not the right fit and was too small for me, but it got me started!)

After trial and error (and many sore glutes), I learned that the bike was too small, and after a little research (and with limited funds at the time), I purchased a mountain bike from Costco.ca. The $500 investment was well worth it. I started slow and went on short rides every other day (weather permitting). I recall setting mileage goals of 5 km, 10km, and then 20 km. I remember how thrilled I was after completing my first 20 km trail ride, at that time in just about an hour. I soon wanted to go beyond 20 km and graduated to a hybrid bike, making it easier to transition from trails to roads. Fast forward a couple of years, I moved up to a better-quality road bike, purchased from a top-notch cycle shop, had it fitted properly, and have never looked back. In 2020, I achieved my goal of cycling 7500 km, with an average ride being about 40 km.

That’s my story. However, you don’t have to ride long distances or push yourself to high endurance levels to benefit from cycling (or any exercise). According to some studies, 2–3 hours of moderate-intensity aerobic exercise weekly (cycling or brisk walking) combined with 2 or 3 strength training sessions per week will reap significant health benefits.

I genuinely believe that it is never too late to start exercising, and cycling may be a good activity for you to consider. “Consistency has been key to keeping fit and injury-free”, says 80-year old cyclist Brian Shaw in Cycling Weekly. And,as that 99-year-old said, “keeping active” is what keeps him going.

Think you’re too old to start cycling. Take a look at Robert Marchand, born November 26th, 1911 (now aged 109) in Amiens, France. Marchand is a French centenarian cyclist, holding world records in 100km and distance cycled in one hour. And this was in the over 100 to 105 years old age category. Simply incredible!

There are risks in bike falls and injuries. The same USNLM study pointed out that geriatric cyclists are more likely to suffer injury and negative sequelae than others and 3 times more likely to suffer fatal accidents than the average cyclist. So preparation, awareness and caution are important considerations for long term cycling.

7 Steps to Health Through Cycling:

  1. Start slow. Check with your health care provider to make sure you are clear to start cycling.
  2. Start with an indoor stationary bike if you have one.
  3. Dust off that old bike, borrow one from someone you know, or invest in a “cheap and cheerful” bike (a decent entry-level can be purchased for under $500). Give it a try.
  4. Invest in a wearable device (smartwatch or Fitbit) and start to track your activity, monitor falls and health data.
  5. Start with small distance goals (5 km) and work your way up. Go at your own pace.
  6. Once you build stamina, considering longer distances, and stay motivated, plan a route that will offer incredible, safe scenery or unexplored parts of your neighborhood (I discovered trails and parks I didn’t know existed in my area).
  7. Plan a ride with a friend and stop at a local cafe — a great way to socialize.

Conclusion:

If your goal is to live a long, healthy lifespan, cycling may be a delightful path for you. Start slowly, ride safe, monitor your key health indicators with all of this available tech, enjoy your improvements over time, and get on the “Road to 100”.

Rob Kowal is President of Kriscor and Associates, an avid cyclist, and co-author of “Deep Health: Using Artificial Intelligence to Live Longer & Healthier.”

--

--

Brian Lenahan
Deep Health

Brian Lenahan, former executive, advanced tech consultant, author of four Amazon-published books on AI and the author of the upcoming book “Quantum Boost”