Hamilton: A new song written by AI

Max Deutsch
Deep Writing
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2016

I trained an LSTM Recurrent Neural Network (a deep learning algorithm) on all the song lyrics from Hamilton. I then asked it to produce a new song based on what it learned. Here’s the song.

All the words and character assignments are from the AI. However, I added a bit of formatting to aid readability. Also, I tried to add strategic line breaks (//) to make it rhyme as best as possible (i.e. my interpretation on how it should be sung or rapped). I bolded my suggested rhymes and soft rhymes.

HAMILTON

Tryin’ for a glass! Split, college. Oceans same. // Outmanned Grandpa’s go… ‘specially four. To the city will stay.

ELIZA

Sir, this way

ANGELICA

I challenge

LAFAYETTE:

Let’s know, they have two States. There is a second? // And his way Empires duel to go. Just damn it // They know wonders upside I’m on, ya number // Maybe a side! So she’s a father, sir

BURR AND COMPANY

Work! dadada its world // show it could tell all

JEFFERSON

Let’s pull turned upside

ELIZA

They’re daddy, think it indispensable // paper!

COMPANY

Alexander, Mr. much does a having over // that’s a hero

ELIZA

Hear me America, What to do for a life?

HAMILTON

I said ’cause he goes

JEFFERSON

Well the pockets of last time // All you my response

HAMILTON

Is the doubt//I’ll be a mouth!

BURR

Here I’m drownin’ in despondent

I wrote you in the host // Ohh, I doubt I’d hope after the saints we // your dear doin’ me to more financial city

WASHINGTON

When we would Eliza’s buck // Satisfied very day // Do he revolution? // Don’t never be insane

ENSEMBLE

Angelica up!

HAMILTON

I’m talkin’ tryin’ to fight in my opinion // Wait for it, wait for our level up // we realize you is ’em

And Phillip, the sea among the South. Understand? // Thomas don’t learned to confer // Remain place into a ballroom // Immigrant, but he’s a war.

LEE

Much a mother has six uptown non-stop! Hey, alive? // In a name in pride // for your war I offered // I know this can’t win once light // We never be mine

In your gossip, in the bleeding dedicated Britain happened for our heart… He Burr and this enough?

ELIZA

Hamilton!

HAMILTON:

Where’s our own though! History. We gotta be back in it, will been ushered to take the strength and I offered he just fight, ya

We listen to it to choose

ELIZA

I’m kill me a name on a reason to the rhythm to a groom!

HAMILTON

I’m Secretary

JEFFERSON

If you need his unimaginable // I’m just lost my Burr, three, duel comes, resigned // to quiet shiny written writin’ very

We dream downtown // Hey, is what to a virtuosity // and Hang George Intemperate redcoats Ladies!

HAMILTON

I have reasons for throwin’ when to provide for our side // But you can’t trust // Oh, I’m not married // my room where it cannot be off but nine

Yo, Helpless! Yeah for? If you right? // nineteen, think you upstate — and work or do to pray for our side

ANGELICA AND COMPANY

Doin’ down time

WASHINGTON

In a battlefield but Angelica, sir? Let’s blocks Hamilton!

BURR

Ev’ry Madison // Jefferson’s on my right mother’s up!

That’s law warm. I miss essay group // They think we elegance and night married // In a shot of a waking wasn’t on the friends on brandish // you stall tobacco is then there seized

Us face I loud? where you read one, all like it’s I have not afraid // I walk eighty-five white seven, man is Ben Bay // Burr

LAFAYETTE

Sir!

ELIZA

Unimportant. Hamilton is a air smile // His plate since I’ll have you was every plans you’ve deux alive… // in us to worry door at me piano

BURR

I am Hamilton, place, proud baby, no being face, you’re ten!

ELIZA

Then // freedom. Work, two more.

WASHINGTON

That’s can’t put their eyes on you looking for // the Pray that Himself, being I am calling here!

MADISON

If future round time // So to be stand with me

HAMILTON

Our buck! Who if you not got like like over guy // so all you know fighting with something in alone… If you were right // the sun take a political // But what if away long!

BURR

Alexander Burr!

Max Deutsch is the founder of Somebody.io (the easiest way to build a personal website) and the creator of Rightspeed (a beautiful speed-listening app).

If you enjoyed the post, it would mean a lot if you could hit the heart button below. It helps me know what I should write more about and helps other people see the story :)

--

--