A Better Place for Our Kids

Not just for mine, but ours too.

Roderick Conwi
Deeper Discussions
2 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

As a parent, I want my kids to grow up in a world full of possibilities. I want the society they grow up in to be better than the one I grew up in. After all, wanting a better life for one’s kids is a typical notion of being a parent.

I don’t expect the world to be perfect; it never has been and probably will never be. There will always be injustice, hate, prejudice, violence, and all other types of ignorance plaguing our world, but the idealistic part of me wants it to be the best it possibly can be, not just for my own children, but everyone’s as well.

I want the world that they grow up in to be a more loving one; a world where empathy and compassion thrive. I envision a place where people act on behalf of their virtuous side versus the one tempted by vices.

I want them to grow up in a world full of opportunities; to have more possibilities than previous generations. I want them to have goals and wild dreams, and a world that enables them to do so.

I don’t think that this is too much to ask for. I believe it’s within the human capability to do so. All parents want the best for their children. People, whether they’re parents or not, should be able to be kind to one another. This world I envision is within reach; we just have to grab it.

--

--

Roderick Conwi
Deeper Discussions

Author, Writer, & Poet. Activiely exploring life and all its wonderful complexities.