Work and wellbeing

Holly Davis
Deeson agency
Published in
5 min readApr 18, 2018

Since January, my diet has changed drastically and weirdly, I’ve got my employer to thank.

At Deeson, we have an annual wellbeing budget which we’re encouraged to spend. The only rule is that it’s not intended to be spent on equipment or something you already do, as it exists to promote lasting change and to improve your current wellbeing.

I decided to use my budget to see a nutritionist. For the last couple of years, I’ve had periods of nausea, bloating and acid reflux but despite tests and prescriptions have never completely got it under control. The doctor encouraged me to change my diet, reduce stress, and increase exercise.

At the end of last year, I decided to be proactive and seek support, and booked a series of appointments which elapsed over a six month period.

At the first appointment we talked about my health history and current symptoms i.e. how often they occur, any known triggers — specific food groups or stress. I was then encouraged to go gluten and dairy free for 4–6 weeks.

As this was pre-Christmas, I decided to wait until January; as I figured I’d have the January blues anyway so I might as well add to it!

My partner kindly decided to do the first stint with me, we started on the 2nd January after enjoying one last supper containing two desserts, consisting of a delicious trifle and apple crumble!

Here are my observations from the first 4–6 weeks

  • Our food shops went up in cost by about 25% — in retrospect this is because we were eating the same food but replacing with Free From alternatives. Try and change your eating habits to keep costs down
  • It’s reasonably easy to find Free From alternatives to most things
  • It’s tough to go both gluten and dairy free at the same time
  • Surprisingly, none of the alternatives were horrible
  • Some of the Free From alternatives aren’t actually that good for you (i.e. Quorn and soya are processed and are not good for you in high quantities)
  • You have to check the ingredients of pretty much everything
  • It was hard to find options when eating out but ask for a gluten free menu, I was surprised by how many places had one!
  • Preparation and leftovers were a key to success
  • Limit yourself to 1–2 pieces of fruit a day but you can fill your boots with salad/veg

Before this period, I was experiencing adverse symptoms a couple of times a week. During this 6 week period, there were only about two days where I experienced symptoms.

By eliminating two big food groups, I was also able to identify other food groups which triggered these symptoms, namely for me, tomatoes.

At the end of these six weeks, I had a follow-up appointment where we reviewed the list of symptoms I presented in my first consultation. I was pleasantly surprised to see an improvement in most areas including a reduction in anxiety.

I was hoping at this point in my journey, I would be able to re-introduce either gluten or dairy but I was encouraged to do another 4–6 weeks without both as although my physical health had improved my energy levels were still low.

I was also encouraged to take a number of supplements at this stage which included:

I found the next 4–6 weeks harder, the novelty had started to wear off, and I started to crave specific food groups but I was determined to keep it up if only to prove to myself I could do it.

At about the eight-week point, I had a trip to Lisbon and decided I would be more lenient with my diet. I enjoyed one of the best burgers and pastel de nata I’ve ever eaten! However, the acid quickly resumed :( This was a good test and reminder that the new lifestyle choices were working well for me.

When I got back to the UK, I resumed standard service! Last week, I had my last appointment, and we reviewed the progress I had made. I now feel I’m able to control my symptoms and can manage them independently.

What I’ve learnt

  • To be more educated about what I eat/drink. I never used to check the ingredients of the things I ate. I’m now more conscious of what I’m putting into my body and the effect it has
  • The realisation that the health of my gut affects my emotional and mental wellbeing
  • Lifestyle change/experiments can be quite enjoyable, on the whole I really enjoyed the challenge

So what’s next?
I’m going to reduce my intake of gluten and dairy but from time to time enjoy an off-plan treat, because let’s face it, you only live once.

As of tomorrow, I start a 10-week Thai chi class. Hopefully soon I’ll be zen as well as acid-free!

Thank you to Deeson for investing in team wellbeing. It’s unlikely I would have made this lifestyle change without this initiative.

Lastly, here are some of my Free From favourites

Sweet tooth tips

  • doisy & dam chocolate is a lovely treat
  • Waitrose LoveLife range is free from gluten and milk and tastes decent
  • Fabulous free from chocolate coated raisins
  • moo free bunnycomb
  • alpro fruit yoghurts taste the closest to normal yoghurts and are good if you don’t like the coconut alternatives
  • soya vanilla ice cream is as good as normal ice cream and a great substitute
  • Nakd or pulsin in bars are best for an on the go snack
  • m&s orange dairy free chocolate bars are the one
  • If you’re missing cake, make a visit to eatnmess. I had the BEST lemon drizzle from their cafe in Sevonoaks

Savoury tips

  • BFree pitta’s and Genius bread is best, the other stuff just crumbles
  • Tamari is a good gluten free alternative to Soy sauce
  • Avocado spread from M&S is a good alternative to butter — even if you don’t like 🥑
  • Craving a burger — head to Honest Burgers
  • Craving fried chicken — head to Bird

After writing this list, I’m now less confused as to why this diet didn’t result in me losing some of my excess weight… 😂

Interested in working for an agency who believes in the future of work? We’re hiring https://www.deeson.co.uk/careers

--

--