Reactions to #defaultbydesign

unicodemonk
default by design
Published in
4 min readDec 27, 2019

Since I posted the default by design blog , I have received a few responses, and every response furthers my own clarity on how this concept can apply to our lives in meaningful ways.

Recap of the concept:
Identify purpose/goal → Examine defaults → Adjust defaults to align with purpose/goal → Repeat defaults (autopilot) → Achieve goal

This can be applied by individuals, organizations/corporates and nations to have significant impact.

E.g.
Entity: Hotel chain
Goal = Be environmentally friendly
Current default = Shampoo/Conditioner with 30+ ingredients, many toxic New default = Castile soap based Shampoo/Conditioner (made from vegetable oil)
Repeated order x X rooms x 365 days a year
= Huge positive impact on environment

The first reaction is from my friend DK, clearly a busy mom…

By default, most of us have taken the dare to simply survive. Exist. Get through the everyday! — DK

I am sure many of us can relate and are nodding our heads agreeing with DK. This is exactly why designing those defaults that make up our everyday can be really key.. just set it and forget it! Once we do, our autopilot life can take over, automating it over time!

This next one is from my dear friend TheImajika who has been my bouncing board for many years. He helped me create the association of how defaults were related to habits, and surprised me by saying he had essentially being practicing this concept in his own life and successfully so.

100% of our existence is repeated patterns of action. Even how we approach the unknown is a repeat pattern. Adjusting the default changes the pattern (action). Instead of looking at life like a big picture with rolling waves and majestic mountains. It looks at it very micro. In my case, I needed to loose weight. I was hurting. I’ve always struggled with weight. 2 years ago I started and today I am 70 lbs down. That was accomplished deliberately (by design) but the reality was that it is the result of a million little changes to how I eat and live. What I drink and when I sleep. How I think about the foods I’m about to eat etc. (I think that is where you are seeing your “defaults”). We sit down for dinner and automatically order soda or have a beer. I had to make the decision to ask for water instead. Then over time habits started to change, and today, I don’t even think about it. It is automatic that I ask for water. Easy. Thoughtless. To succeed you have to change everything about your decisions and that takes a lot of little adjustments (to your defaults). — TheImajika

That is truly inspiring TheImajika and I do hope you will write about your approach to a healthier you soon.

This last one is from another dear friend and fellow Sagittarian.. BSK.

Appears to be an approach for efficient mindfulness? -BSK

Yes! Mindfully mindless or mindlessly mindful! A practical way to accomplish living mindfully. Amazing how BSK just got it, and simplified it too!

In a nuthshell, the concept of default by design is to

  • for us as individuals to simplify our lives dramatically by a one time set-it-and-forget-t set of defaults in order to maximize whatever intent or purpose that is important to us
  • for corporates and nations to select their default offerings to reduce their carbon footprint and maximize their impact

Another friend DD was more poetic in his take —

By default, didn’t want to read but then as i lead my life by design, decided to read, …

By default everyone is on facebook, by design I am out of it

(and finally signing out)

By default wanted to chat, by design wanted to sleep -DD

In these brief lines, DD spoke volumes about the lifestyle choices he has made to optimize his time, and ensure a good night’s sleep!

Finally my friend PR chimed in with his thoughts:

I see this as more applicable to corporates / nations to have meaningful impact — key would be for the better choices to be cost effective. From an individual perspective, I see this as basically the value system and perhaps the opportunity here is to ensure one’s actions are aligned with one’s value system. -PR

I have much more clarity of purpose having heard from all these wonderful friends.

Do you want to share your own experience with designing your defaults? You can join the default by design medium publication as a writer. Send an email to defaultbydesign2020 at gmail dot com.

And don’t forget to tweet or insta using #defaultbydesign #designyourdefaults or #mydefaults!

--

--