Money’s Never More Important Than Your Life

Brody Smith
Defender
Published in
5 min readNov 5, 2019

It certainly drives me crazy how some people jack the price up of a firearm by hundreds of bucks if you compare prices store to store. I really value quality over everything but I don’t want to get ripped off. Allow me to explain some more…

First of all — Over spending on a product I have found later to be 20–40% less in another store is excruciatingly painful, and a real pet peeve of mine. We are certainly spoilt for choice nowadays, so buying a firearm can definitely become a difficult thought process enough without this added over pricing issue!

I really don’t want to waste money buying some cheap knock off and at the same time also not get ripped off, so the only way around it I’ve found is spending some time looking at various suppliers to get a good price check, and then of course buying local incase you need to speak to someone at the store, after you have made your purchase.

Something like this is really the last thing I ever want to see happen to my gun

So many stores, but where’s the good deal?

To be totally honest with you, I find it especially hard when shopping online, having so many options available whilst looking to find that best deal means that I often end up down a virtual rabbit hole of hundreds of tabs open— and when I do find a deal that looks good, I’m not 100% sure I can really trust the seller.

I have found Gunbroker.com is a great site to use as it has a vetted community and I have purchased (and even sold) on their platform many times successfully without issue. Of course it goes without saying that as long as you know what you are buying, you should end up with a good deal (but there are no guarantees unlike when buying in a store).

When using Gunbroker you need to be pretty gun savvy when making your selection, so I do not recommend it for people who are not comfortable with that and are just starting out buying their own guns.

Ultimately saving a few bucks is important for sure, although for me what’s more important is being able to rely on my choice. Enough to put my life on it.

Murphy’s law strikes again…

Obviously life is irreplaceable, and worth much more than a firearm could ever cost, so ultimately you have to ask yourself the question: Why put a price on your life, just to save a bit of money? Now that deal just doesn’t seem worth it to me!

I get it, no one wants to be ripped off, although it works both ways — what do you hold in higher regard, price or quality?

I’d say my main issue with saving money on firearms is friends who have lost a limb, ended up in hospital or are no longer with us (God rest their souls) due to having a low quality firearm, that malfunctioned and caused them serious irrevocable damage. Really there is no saving money when your wellbeing is involved. You wouldn’t start a journey in a vehicle that didn’t have working brakes, so why would you buy a gun that may misfire, or malfunction?

The DDM4 M4A1 made by Daniel Defense is certainly one hell of a dependable firearm.

When purchasing a firearm, what’s more important to you, price or dependability?

That’s the big question that’s always on my mind. What really matters more, my life or saving a bit of cash? For me I just want to know the tool I have invested in is reliable, and the best available on the market.

So sure — if that means I am going to be paying off the finance for a little bit longer, it makes not even a one hundredth of a damn fraction of a percent’s difference. Because this is life we’re talking about, and I know you will agree that life is priceless.

You cannot buy someone back. There is no rewind button, but there is one thing we can buy — a dependable piece of hardware.

The Glock 19, an iconic design that works every damn time

Some people have told me to buy a certain firearm (or not buy) based purely on price, like I’m the jack ass for paying a bit more for quality or getting ripped off somehow.

Fast forward a few months later on, after they had used that firearm for only a handful of times, and let off around a couple thousand rounds, sure enough the firing mechanism malfunctioned.

When I get a new firearm what’s on my mind is that I just have to make sure I’m not going to end up doing this!

So now my buddy had to take it in for repair, and then politely wait in line for it to be fixed. Of course this additional cost (and time without their firearm!) he doesn’t want to talk openly about now, and it’s just swept under the carpet because he doesn’t want to admit that he now owns a shitty defective piece of crap, that’s his families primary defense tool! What a bad investment, talk about throwing your money away!

“Always Buy Top Of The Range Hardware, And You Will Always Have Peace Of Mind.”

Like building your house on the sand, saving a bit of cash on your firearm purchase by going for a cheaper option, that just isn’t designed for long term use is certainly a bad investment, that will end up biting you in the ass one day…

SIG Sauer’s P226 is my personal preference when it comes to handgun choice.

I urge you to shop smart and look for quality over price. Finance payments puts the power in your hand to pay it back over time, in easy to pay instalments with low interest. So there really is no excuse to not buy the best.

Obviously just make sure you found a fair price that isn’t hundreds of dollars different in another store, and start sleeping better knowing you have a dependable firearm at your side, that is good to go whenever the time calls!

My Recommended Choices For Reliable Rifles And Handguns Are The Following:

➣ Have you ever had a firearm malfunction on you? Let me know in the comments below!

--

--

Brody Smith
Defender
Editor for

Tech guy and investor with a love for nature and travel 🇺🇸