Deliberately Connected: A Community of Innovators

ThoughtThinker
Disruptive Thinkers
4 min readMay 13, 2020

by Christopher Williams

Disruptive Thinkers curates blog posts that promote a culture of innovation in the national security community, inspiring and connecting ideas that challenge the status quo. We welcome submissions that are in line with this mission.

I had no idea what to expect when I stumbled through DEF’s door earlier this year. To be honest, it is likely I subconsciously ignored the group due to my frustration with anything and anyone touting ‘innovation’ in national security.

I was not expecting what I found. My first interaction with DEF felt like jumping into the deep end of the pool without knowing how to swim.

DEF felt like jumping into the deep end of the pool…

I was launched into a video conference with amazing people from across the national security community to discuss design thinking and how it can enable tangible solutions in a culture where those at the bleeding edge no longer feel isolated, but have a community behind them.

The issue for me: I had no formal background in this topic and pretty much knew I was ‘in the wrong class’.

Photo by Gabriel Benois on Unsplash

What I Found

This group of disruptive thinkers, startup founders behind Project AGITARE, welcomed me to sit at the virtual table, encouraged me to engage and learn, and quite literally, deliberately made me feel connected to the group.

For the briefest of moments I knew I was in way over my head.

I honestly still feel that today, but this group doesn’t really allow much time for that. They challenge you to learn more, to push further, and to share what you are thinking.

The Agora theme you encounter is such a fitting and well-placed term for DEF. It is an assembly of phenomenal thinkers from within the defense space, and I am just happy to be a fly on the wall around some of these creative geniuses who want to solve real problems.

What I Am Learning

The Defense Entrepreneurs Forum is here to turn ideas into action. But, and I think, most importantly, the community serves to inspire anyone that has an idea to chase after it!

Innovation is not just a buzzword in this community.

Whether you are attending a conference, a virtual happy hour through Slack, or a one-off call with a connection you make from within the community, this body of thinkers is enabling innovation and garnering buy-in every step of the way.

They are not just throwing money at a problem and hoping to find success. There is purpose-driven exploration of innovative ideas, a willingness to be on the edge of what is considered ‘reasonable’ and push right through to the finish line, and a healthy environment of debate and logical approach to what you hope to accomplish.

…a willingness to be on the edge of what is considered ‘reasonable’ and push right through…

From my brief experience thus far, this is a place where those that enjoy pushing the envelope thrive and partner to ensure national security innovation practices keep pace with the world of today. It is a force multiplier for anyone who considers themselves innovative and hopes to bring that culture to their organization.

Personally, I am here to stay.

My goal now is to bring others to this environment and deliberately connect them to a community that I believe will encourage them to go against the grain, to innovate, and to challenge the norms that institutions have held onto for decades.

Come join me, come grow with us as part of a community bringing innovation culture directly to national security.

Christopher Williams is an Air Force Veteran and dabbling writer of things. He has spent nearly a decade as an Intelligence Professional and has a career focus of enabling and realizing innovation culture within National Security.

The views expressed in this article are his own.

The Defense Entrepreneurs Forum is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that inspires, connects and empowers people by convening events, forging partnerships and delivering tangible solutions. Our mission is to promote a culture of innovation in the U.S. national security community.

If you are a civil servant, military member, academic, entrepreneur, policymaker, or technologist (or just find the idea of helping solve tough problems enticing), we’d love to have you join the DEF Community!

--

--

ThoughtThinker
Disruptive Thinkers

Randomly throwing words into a somewhat cohesive order at times in hopes that a story comes out! Opinions are my own.