My Personal Journey to Product Management

Yoav Farbey
Define Products
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2016

Last week I was delighted to have my first article published on Mind The Product, a product management blog, with a large following in London.

In the article I discussed my time at Hailo as a Data Analyst, and my ambition to move into Product Management. I discussed the courses I took at General Assembly and the Scrum Alliance, both are detailed on Define Products Resources page.

“Before leaving my data analyst role I went on two different training courses. The first one was an intensive scrum management course run by Scrum Alliance, and my fellow students were a diverse group of product managers, scrum masters, analysts, and developers. The course focused on the day-to-day management of teams and product backlogs. For me, the real benefit of the course was the opportunity to discuss problems and challenges with people from very different business backgrounds.

I also went on a much longer Product Management course run by General Assembly (GA). This covered many aspects of product management and related business development, and focussed on working on early stage products. This course gave me a much more serious grounding in product management.”

Quote from the original article on Mind The Product

I the article, I describes how I took my learnings from those courses and put them in to use, at my day job and on a website called The Startup Magazine, a website that I currently manage.

Finally I discussed how I moved forward in my career away from data analysis and in to a product management role.

To read my full story, see the original article on Mind The Product.

--

--

Yoav Farbey
Define Products

Sr Product Manager @ParkNowgroup. Ex Product at Newmotion, Accenture Interactive & Hailo, occasionally writing on https://medium.com/define-products