DeFiNet NFT

NFTs For Medium

Let’s Model It Like The Soccer Transfer Market

Leo Guinan
DeFiNet
Published in
3 min readApr 6, 2021

--

Photo by Travel Nomades on Unsplash

Like many writers, I have been watching the Non-Fungible Token space with interest. It seems like a good way to make some quick money. I’ve been exploring several options. But I saw problems with all of them.

That’s when I analyzed what NFTs were and why they are becoming popular. The goal is partial ownership of digital property. When that property is sold, all owners receive a portion of the proceeds. Depending on the offering, buyers may receive full or partial ownership. You can do a bunch of cool things when talking about percentage ownership.

NFTs and Soccer

I was looking for a metaphor to explain NFTs when I realized there is already a real-world equivalent. Soccer teams all over the world create NFTs with their talent. It creates fractional ownership of a player’s rights from their academy team to their pro team(s). I’m a big soccer fan and one of the most interesting parts of the game to me is the transfer market.

Also, I used to play a lot of Football Manager. So if you want to think about NFTs and you are a soccer fan, imagine it this way: NFTs allow people to buy sell-on clauses to digital property. When that property gets sold in the future, you get a percentage of it…

--

--