Victorian Breakfast at Elliott Bay

Devonnie Black
Defining Devonnie
Published in
3 min readNov 27, 2016
elliott bay book company
elliott bay book company
elliott bay book company
elliott bay book company-little oddfellows cafe
elliott bay book company-little oddfellows cafe-tea
elliott bay book company-little oddfellows cafe
elliott bay book company-little oddfellows cafe
elliott bay book company-little oddfellows cafe

November is almost over and I completely bombed #blogtober. I just couldn’t keep putting out content that didn’t necessarily hold a place in my heart or interests. I’m learning a lesson about churning out content. I’m trying to remind myself that Defining Devonnie is a space for learning, sharing and most importantly, documenting. There aren’t any rules to what I’m trying to do so I’m making them up as I go. Is that cool? Good.

Anywho, this evening’s post is brought to you on an extremely overcast, cold and grey Seattle afternoon. I’m sitting in The Elliot Bay Book Company (I love this place) sipping the first pour of my Victorian Breakfast tea (which was later followed by a hot chocolate) out of a dainty teal cup as the rest of my tea steeps in a small green pot. The Cafe area, Little Oddfellows, is packed with other people looking to escape the confines of their homes to get a bit more productivity in today, just like me. It’s pretty loud in here. From the indie rock music to the whispered, as well as the not-so-whispered, conversations flourishing around me. Still. I really like it here. New spot?

I’m working on these creative pieces I want to film and planning each piece out requires a level of concentration and focus that seems to escape me at home. Just one glance at my bed and there are one million and one reasons why work can wait.

Besides, getting out of my space definitely helps break up my writers block. Also, any place that offers wine on tap is my kind of environment. For productivity reasons, of course.

There are books everywhere. A beautiful balance of coffee and paper.

I hope your Sunday is going as chill and productive as mine!

-Devonnie.

--

--