Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Collection of Poems by Kenneth Pobo

Defuncted Editors
Defuncted
Published in
2 min readDec 22, 2018

--

Our History in Salt

Our history in salt
water

I can’t meet
their reptile eyes
liquid obsidian
mirrors

these seem the most
vulnerable
despite jaws
which could snap
my arm off

a boy again
you watch one dive
deep
before surfacing

I want
your arms
human
to hold me

turtles circle
a square
of water
green scum
and paint

their sea
a few hundred feet
away

First published in Phase & Cycle.

Aunt Gwen Forgives Little

On the spotty Sundays
when she goes to church, she dreads
hymns, thinks them tuneless

and childish. No clinging to
an old rugged cross for her —
she never clings, says prayers

if they’re short and not booby-trapped
with supplications. She likes
that Jesus can forgive. At least

somebody can! Sometimes
she wishes that he’d return
right this minute smite a lot

of nasty people. Usually
she’s glad that he’s in heaven
so she’s still got time to wash

the basement windows and
put three old blouses in a bag
for the hospital resale shop.

First published in Rose & Thorn.

Anti-Cactus Remark

While looking for Norma’s
present I hear a father
tell his son that no,
he can’t have a nasty
cactus in his room. His
tantrum ends when he

sees a plastic gun
an aisle away. I want
that cactus, its pink
blossom a bicycle with no
rider heading up into
pale fluorescence. Norma

will have to wait. I take
my cactus home and put it on
my bedstand, hope it
blossoms in sleep’s desert,
its green trunk
a star’s tongue.

First published in Gerbil.

Muscovite Mica

In Earth’s novel
Mica,

each page peels off,
gives mountains
centuries
of surprise
endings. Silver
print is easy on

the eyes. Stars read it
on leaf porches. Mica

sells poorly, but Earth
writes so slowly,
it’s happy to bear
this one book

glaciers present to
wildflowers.

First published in Phase & Cycle.

Carbon Paper

I’d see a garbage can,
pick through it, find
something fun
like carbon paper,
a paper lake
I jumped in, blued
myself from toe
to crewcut, became
the blue kid on the block
till mom ordered me
to again be
her white
white child,
my joy forming
a blue gauze
around sides
of the tub,
possibilities
scrubbed away.

First published in Sidewalks.

Kenneth Pobo has a book of prose poems forthcoming from Clare Songbirds Publishing House called The Antlantis Hit Parade. His work has appeared in: Hawaii Review, Mudfish, Nimrod, and elsewhere.

--

--