Why do we love media? Hope my media diet answers that.

Dejuan Eubanks
dejuanspublication
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2021

There is a lot of time that individuals spend on the phone daily in society. Now more than what I expected in a recent study conducted on my phone this current week as a result. The study is known as a “media diet” to figure out how much time is consumed on my phone. In that time there was a total of six hours and fourth-eight minutes of screen time and 1,533 total pickups in the last week. Here are the following apps consumed in that time which is sorted and sized by the time used below:

At that time, YouTube was the most used app and to me was no surprise in my time of research during this week. I use the app regularly and usually fall asleep while watching videos or during my leisure time. YouTube has been a popular app for many years and a personal favorite of mine to use in any kind of downtime.

Instagram was the second most used app in my media diet within the last week of my research. I do consistently use the app daily scrolling through a variety of content. The site offers shops, podcast clips, and other kinds of videos. The content is too eye-popping to avoid and because of that, I’m on the app often.

After YouTube and Instagram, there are not many forms of apps in my diet I consume that much. I pretty much use my phone the same unless I use Snapchat, that’s the only thing I use in a big-time frame. I pretty much either scroll on other apps when there is a lack of content on it that I’m uninterested in during certain times like Tik Tok and others.

There is something learned very valuable that can be learned with the mediums we use every day. They are big-time consumers that waste a lot of productivity to get things done but are certainly a great form of entertainment we will continue to consume.

--

--