Becoming a Deletist

Part 3: Deleting Google

I deleted my Google data [except Gmail] and paused all future tracking. I no longer use Chrome and have no Google apps installed on any of my devices. This includes native Google Doc apps, Google Drive, etc. I also, no longer use any email client to automatically pull new email from Gmail. If I need to access to anything Google related, I do it through a browser I can trust.

Charles Reynolds-Talbot
Becoming a Deletist

--

Don’t forget about Google

With all the negative news Facebook has been getting it was easy to be ignorant about Google. I knew Google tracked me and used that data to advertise to me. I knew that. That’s why I’d changed browsers and started using a different search engine. But for some I never thought of that data collection in the same scary light as I did with Facebook. Until I came across a thread on Twitter (I won’t repeat the content of that here).

I understood the steps I needed to take check out my data and stop Google tracking me. You should too.

#BeADeletist 🚫

Originally published at https://deletist.xyz/google where you’ll find a series of advice and delete-guides on how to reduce your digital-data footprint, become anonymous and make more time.

Read next:

Sign up for my newsletter to join the conversations around deletism, ethical design and privacy. Just one email once a month (sometimes less). No spam. No data sharing.

--

--