Midnight Calling

Tessa Andrews
Deliciously Fictitious
2 min readSep 25, 2020

--

A foggy haze hovered over the lake on this chilly autumn evening, shrouding the water with a hint of mystery. The hair on the back of my neck bristles slightly as a creature howled in the distance. A coyote or a wolf singing his sad song to the full moon that was rising over the foothills of southern Wyoming. My senses are on high alert as the smell of blood surrounds me.

I take a long drag from the cigarette in my hand, letting the nicotine dull the throbbing in my head. The wind rustles the reeds in the water right beneath where my toes are hanging of the creaky dock. The only other sound, besides that wolf every few minutes, is the gurgling noises coming from the body behind me.

Red and blue lights flash behind me. Agent Carter steps out of the car. I know it’s him because he sighs loudly as soon as he sees me at the edge of the dock.

“You really have to give me a heads up about these things, Allison.” he calls out. “Mrs. Ellis was scared half to death when she called this in.”

“I can’t control it, you know that.”

“Yeah, I know. Well, it’s probably best if you run along. Can’t have you around when the coroner shows up. And for goodness sake, can you put some clothes on?”

I stand up carefully, and turn around. The dock is slippery with blood as I make my way back to solid ground.

--

--

Tessa Andrews
Deliciously Fictitious

Just an amateur writer trying to make the most of my short time on earth.