The White Lighter Curse Stuck Around for a Reason

You’ll never see me with one

Nicole Wallet
Delightful Distractions

--

The white Lighter Curse stuck around for a reason by nicole wallet. This photo is of a blue BIC lighter with the letters FAMT on the side. Orange background
I don’t even want a picture of a white lighter. Photo by Cas Verrest on Unsplash

A white BIC lighter in your possession is a big no-no.

Toss it.

Bad luck, karma, juju, curse, or myth- it still carries some weight. The pot smokers will agree with me.

You just don’t have a white BIC lighter. It will bring bad luck.

Why would a white lighter be bad luck?

Like many superstitions, the origin is a bit fuzzy.

I read somewhere that ‘The 27 Club’ members each died with white BIC lighters in their pockets.

The musicians who died at only 27 years old were Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison, and Kurt Cobain.

Was it a coincidence or a curse that they all had a white Bic?

The white lighter myth stuck around for a reason by nicole wallet photo is of “The 27 Club” mural by Eduardo Kobra in NYC. The painting features Janis Joplin with Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison with Jimi Hendrix. half of each face is paired up to the next to form a complete face. And Amy Winehouse on the end.
“The 27 Club” mural by Eduardo Kobra in NYC. Photo by Emmy C on Unsplash

The other reason comes from the bottom of the lighter. If used to pack down your weed pipe, ash and resin would show up more on a white lighter than other colors.

In a more ‘reefer- madness’ time (or place), cops could see that you had been smoking the devil’s lettuce.

--

--

Nicole Wallet
Delightful Distractions

I write about everything in hopes that one day I will find my niche. I don't like writing Bios, so I'll cross that off my niche list.